July Retrospective and August Plans

rearview-mirror-g1826b2ebe_640.jpg
Looking ahead and looking back.

Time for another retrospective post. Like last month, I'll share some highlights, some tentative plans, and some musings along the way. I think I like this monthly self-evaluation. What do you think as a reader? Have you considered anything similar?

Today is Hive Power Up Day. If you can power up at least 10 HIVE, you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz. I powered up 100 HIVE, which also brought me over the 40,000 Hive Power benchmark! All of this has been earned on this platform and its predecessor, so a huge thanks to everyone who has supported my content over the years.

Speaking of which, I am also approaching my Hive birthday this month. Has it really been 6 years? According to HiveBlocks, I created this account on August 11th, 2016. I am still working on my post archive, but I have started the arduous process of editing my earliest posts, and even adding some new images. I'll probably commemorate that anniversary with a post collecting together links to everything I have ever written. It will be an ongoing process though.

That brings me to the next thought on my mind. I also achieved another Hive Power Up Month by powering up at least 1 HIVE every day. I don't plan to try that this month, though. I'm taking a break. I have shown myself that I can keep to that schedule, but August is going to be too busy for that.

I will also probably taper off my support for newcomers highlighted by @lovesniper. Kindly follow that account, support the introduction posts they highlight, and consider delegating some Hive Power for a couple weeks so these newbies have some resource credits to spare while they get started.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Let's look at the last month's progress. It seems I managed 20 posts in 31 days, not great, but not bad, roughly on par with June.

I shared four posts about wildflowers, a pair of food posts, a cute crab craft, and a Magic: The Gathering booster pack review. I also refreshed my Hive look. As for the library, I covered a backpacking program, our parade adventures (along with a tangential rant), and a stupid survey. The library Dungeons & Dragons day wasn't eventful enough to warrant a posts. I did write about a bizarre occurrence just before a game where I am a player, though.

I am planning a backpacking and camping trip of my own this month, although plans seem to keep getting interruptions and interference. Nonetheless, as part of my preparation, I shared an overview of water filtration and mess kits for camping, and a look at headlamps and flashlights. I also wrote posts about my original Leatherman Pocket Survival Tool and a strange look at survival, economics, and fishing equipment within the last few days.

On a more serious note, I finished my dreaded abortion post and took a look at Tinkerbell politics.

August plans are up in the air. I have no predictions about posting regularity or topics. It will probably be much less frequent, though. Such is the nature of offline life. Sometimes it takes precedence. I'll probably read and upvote about like normal, but again, I can't guarantee the same degree of newcomer support I have been building up recently. I also have a lot of posts to start editing and collect into a master archive. I'll be busy, even if you don't see it here.

Image credit

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

dizzy d20 128.png

HIVE | PeakD | Ecency

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center