Floral Exploring

Remember a couple weeks ago when I was looking for philadelphus lewisii, only to conclude it was physocarpus capitatus? Joke's on me. Both plants are in some cases literally growing intertwined as clumps of shrubs, and while the Pacific Ninebark flower clusters are winding down and turning into seed pod clusters (left), the Syringa (right) is finally in bloom here locally! Pardon the dust. This is beside a dirt road, and the rain suddenly let up at long last.

ninebark cluster.jpg

dusty syringa.jpg

Other flowers are either going to seed or in full bloom as the season returns to a more normal cycle. Dandelions are considered weeds, but they are also beneficial. I even like the round balls of seeds (left) as seen below. St. John's Wort, (right) on the other hand, is generally considered a noxious weed here despite its purported medicinal benefits. It seems to be toxic to livestock.

dandelion seeds.jpg

st johns wort.jpg

Unfortunately, my photos for these were out of focus. I snapped what I believe is scotch bluebell(left) and what is certainly some variety of violet (right).

scotch bluebell.jpg

violet.jpg

Remember to get outside and see the wildflowers, or at least get some fresh air! Share some snapshots in your own post, and comment here with a link, please. I'll take a look and sling some votes around.


468x60-3.png

You'll more likely win just a few Satoshis per hourly spin, but it's an easy way to dip your toes in the Bitcoin ecosystem. Referral link.

PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center