HIVE goals for February 2022

monthly author badge

Before setting any goals for February, let's take a quick look back at January. All told, I had a good start to the year.

I earned my 4th monthly author badge on @HiveBuzz, although I fell short of the Power Up Month challenge due to a software glitch on PeakD switching a post from 100% payout to 50/50. If you revert scheduled posts to drafts for further editing and additions, don't forget to double-check the post rewards setting in the advanced options!

I also feel like I managed to meet my own post quality standards despite the volume of writing. I continued my Anarchist Toolbox series with a post about Socratic dialogue, I finished my series on firearms for survival, I tried new recipes, shared library tales, reviewed a few beers, talked Magic, and generally spouted off about a lot of things that were on my mind.

Screenshot-2022-2-1 PeakD.png

I have had a good month overall for account growth as a result of consistent posting and curation. Rewards are never guaranteed for either venture, and I don't upvote based on any particular strategy. I support a few creators regularly, browse some communities, and sometimes remember to upvote a bunch of people in the @Curie Author Showcase posts.

I also still manually curate. No bot votes from me, and I read pretty much everything I upvote. I should comment more in the future, though, and that's a good segue into goals. I make no promises, of course, because the future is always unknown, but experts say setting goals is important.

First, I do not plan to post daily again. Creating that much content while meeting my own quality standards takes a lot of work. I also have some offline projects which require my attention.

I do plan to work on some larger writing projects. Switching from a daily posting schedule will also allow me to spend some time gaming and taking screenshots for reviews, work through some more complicated essays I have in mind, and maybe go on a few day trips for small adventures and smartphone photography opportunities.

I do intend to comment more on the posts I curate, and upvote more comments I read. I believe we need to promote more interaction, and rewarding those who already contribute to conversations is my small way to signal for more of it.

I do plan to continue posting fairly regularly, and power up at least 1 HIVE each day. I want one of those Power Up Month badges! I have enough liquid HIVE to make it work.

I already resumed delegating to @Ecency. It's only a token sum right now, because I don't want to dilute my own vote power too much due to the aforementioned comment curation plans, but I will probably increase it.

I make no claims to great wisdom or expertise, but I want to foster more conversation and debate here while maintaining the general civility we have on our platform. I do plan to contribute toward productive dialogue on all topics. What about you? How will you plan your growth here, or anywhere else on the web? Comments are always welcome.


PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center