Guilt: An Amateurish Beer Review

It's not for the masses, it's for you.

Or so proclaims the blurb on the can. The Selkirk Abbey Brewing Company is located in Post Falls, Idaho, and also not apparently located on the internet. I can't find a website. It says they were founded in 2011 on the logo, so here's to being in business for over a decade. Cheers!

20220103_023106.jpg

Guilt is fairly strong at 8.6% ABV with a roasty, malty porter profile. It definitely tastes of chocolate and coffee, but I don't know whether that's due to added ingredients, or just the brewing process. Either way, I like it. However, it does seem slightly watery. It's like the carbonation is off.

I would love to try this on tap if I am ever near their brewery, assuming they also have a tap house on site. If not, maybe Capone's has it. There was a bit of a scandal about 20 years ago when the place was torched by a rival pub owner. Fortunately for them, this isn't an operation run by that Capone, so everyone kept their kneecaps.

Mmmm... malty roasty happiness, but almost no hoppiness. I like this, but maybe I should try an IPA again for my next review? What do you think?

This would go better with sourdough pretzels than char siu pork if you're looking for pairing advice.


PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center