The Rumor Weed and the Small-Town Grapevine

Today, as the hooligans invaded the library once school let out, one of the first breathlessly told another librarian that someone had died at school. We were informed that another student had overdosed in the restroom, and it was probably suicide. This was a possibility, because youth suicide rates are unfortunately high, and there is precedent for drug use on school grounds, too. However, I did not entirely trust the source, if you know what I mean. I decided it would be wise to reserve judgement until the story could be corroborated.

There was some truth behind the story. Someone had apparently collapsed in a restroom, and apparently paramedics had carried them off for treatment, but later versions of the story from more level-headed people suggest no one died, it wasn't suicide, and it wasn't drug related. Someone had a seizure. I wouldn't normally call a seizure, "good news," but in comparison to the rumor, I'll take it!

I am still waiting for a more definitive version of the story, but no doubt confidentiality laws restrict official announcements for a time. I suggest taking a step back whenever there is any sensational news story, whether it comes through the small-town grapevine or the big 24-hour news conglomerates. Maybe the news really is as bad as it seems, but critical thinking and caution are always rewarded.


Update

Newer news has arrived. The girl in question was apparently vaping in the restroom when she had a seizure. Someone needed to use an AED while awaiting paramedics. I don't know what was in the vape in question, or whether it triggered the seizure somehow, so it may still be drug-related.

[geezer]Kids these days...[/geezer]


PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center