Sewing Sunday for a Needlework Monday

All the land is covered in white. Snow lays on trees, grass, hills it even stays on the streets.

I spent the whole last week wandering around in the forest, going for walks. Freezing my toes and admiring the beauty and calmness of winter.

This might become my favorite season.
Say that to my ten years in the past me, I would have never ever believed you.

This Sunday, I still didn’t have enough of the snow, but a day of sewing couldn’t do any harm.

A very exiting set up a whole day, no disturbance, just myself some fabric and a sewing machine.

I found this beautiful fabric, waved wool.

Whenever it gets cold, I get inspired a lot by woolen fabrics, knitting any thing warmness related.

So, when I took the material in my hands, it gave me instant inspiration, to wear it as a sweater/top/hoodie.

There was also this very explicit idea wandering around and maturing in my head since the day before.

It went somewhat like this: Two layered sweater, first layer is stretchy fabric and just a normal sweater shape. Second layer must be non-stretchy, beautiful thin, must have the qualities of silk but doesn’t have to be silk. Then I would cut it way to big, sew it onto the first layer. That technique would create a lot of ruffles and 3D shapes. I could use then some stitches to hold it in form. And bam princess sweater, to run around in the snow! Did I watch too many haute couture shows lately? Maybe yes.

First I cut out all the pieces…

…as you can see, I used a fabric I printed a few days ago (if you want to see that its here)

…wanted to overprint it

…but thought to give it a run in this project

…also, I didn’t have any other stretchy fabric, only red and that didn’t fit my colour-mood at all

…figured out how to cut the wool fabric

…not that easy to fit it all on one sheet

…tried to sew it together

…and

Awesome Idea (might get back to it eventually) but wrong fabric and not enough of it.

I would have had to use way more, at least double of the wool fabric to resume my plan. But at that stage I didn’t want to leave it. After I spent already a few hours on it.

By trying to rescue it, and because the wool fabric is so beautiful, soft and warm. I imagined it would be lovely to turn it into a basic-chic top, for sophisticated winter days.

…I cut out the shapes again

…just copying the sweater-pattern but slightly bigger

…sewing

…tried it on

…because I feared the white would make it look like some medieval coat

…at first try on it looked fine

…so, I kept on sewing

…and sewing

It was a real pleasure to work with that fabric. Just touching it while working with it was awesome. I guess that made me be able to cope with the fact, that the top did look like a medieval shirt in the end. Not the pretty and comfy blouse I had imagined to wear by the evening.

Nevertheless, I figured out another idea.

I am going to use it as lining in an eventual hoodie I am going to sew. Any awesome, cozy big winter hoodie.

And that’s how my random sewing Sunday ended.

With a bike ride through the snow. Ideas in my head and snow around.

As usual all photos are my own taken by me.

Thank you all for your visits, have a lovely week!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency