Life's Simple Pleasures as an Antidote to Economic Adversity

<div class="text-justify>

The year 2024 has so far been the most difficult year in my country in terms of economic meltdown, I've never in my life experienced inflation at its worst state compared to what we've been forced to face since the beginning of this year, it keeps getting worst, as humans we have no other option than to adapt as that is one of our characteristics as humans, but in adapting to this difficult situation, most of us have to sacrifice doing the things we love to do for fun, sometimes working extra time just to meet up with bills, not that we desire to but the expenses ahead often make us sacrifice fun times which isn't all that right. A good friend of mine would say in Nigerian pidgin "Wahala no dey finish, make we try to enjoy"

This means no matter how much we work, and the money we make, it won't be enough as there will always be a problem to solve, so instead of just existing, we should learn to live life, and this means creating fun moments for oneself and family, as it helps us relief stress and also makes us feel good within ourselves.

IMG-20240512-WA0178.jpg

Even though the last six months have been undoubtedly rough, there have been moments I intentionally decide to just have fun and forget my worries, one of which is being pampered on Mother's day, the truth is I had no plan for this day even though the mothers in my local church couldn't stop talking about it because to me it is just another day as I have never had a special mother's day before that day, so I spent the week prior to that day focused on my job even working overtime some days, only for me to be gifted with the gift of a new fabric by my husband, alas! He finally took Mother's Day as an important day, he didn't stop there as he also got me new pairs of shoes, trust me to make a pretty dress out of the fabric, and on D day I had the best mother's day celebration, dressed gorgeously in my pretty dress, I also actively participated in the event organized by my church and when we got home, I received an extra pamper treatment from my husband all day that day, as all chores and kitchen duties were handled by him, even though it was just a day pampering, it was a fun day for me as I get to have my me time and also spending lovely moments bonding with my family.

IMG-20240221-WA0094.jpg

Another highlight of a fun day I had over the last six month was visiting one of the exquisite hotels in Lagos Island, I had an old time friend invite me to to catch up on the Times we've been apart as she was in Lagos for a business deal, seeing an old time friend always have a way of making us feel younger and vibrant, we spent the day reminiscing on old times mischief and laughing over our childishness those years while we enjoy the hotel's extravagant view and service, but I had to leave early even though she had wanted me to stay more, I wish I could, but an urgent business deal came up which I couldn't decline, that was what dragged me out,still, i'm glad I had a bit of fun even though it was short, and I promised to make it up to her on her next visit.

I always tell people that life isn't hard, we only make it hard on ourselves, the more we loosen up a bit, the more we begin to appreciate the little things we didn't count as anything, and then life begin to have more meaning and with living not just existing working every day of your life till the end.

All images are mine

Thank you for reading.❤❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center