Driving Cross Country Day 21: Onward Home

So I am wrapping things up this week finally. Normally I post on Mondays but I was a bit under the weather with traveling across country and the weather was different everywhere I had a huge headache and staring at a computer screen wasn't good for it. It's bee a long trip but it's been a good one and I may be doing a longer one in the spring we'll just have to see.

So I woke up in Blanding, UT and needed to get to Elephant Butte, NM. It was going to take around 7 hours. Tomorrow is Veteran's Day so I'll have the day off but the next I promised my friend I'd help him launch an ongoing self defense course at the hospital in Truth or Consequences. When I first drove through Blanding on the way to Salt Lake City I noticed this beautiful reservoir outside of town but didn't have time to stop. This morning I went to the gas station down the road early and decided to take some photos before I hit the road to New Mexico. It's called the Recapture Reservoir.

20191110_073109.jpg

20191110_073147.jpg

20191110_073154.jpg

20191110_073256.jpg

20191110_073304.jpg

20191110_073310.jpg

The reservoir honestly would make a good post on it's own but this is more of a blog thing I may repost it separate another time. After taking some early morning photos of the reservoir I hit the road. I wasn't far from the Arizona border I just had to go through Mexican Hat and some of those places. Yes Mexican Hat is the name of the town and no I didn't make it up. I didn't name the town so all the snowflakes out there just go melt on someone else I didn't name it.

I did manage to catch a couple more I missed on the way up coming through Arizona in the Navajo Nation area. I think I ended up on some other route slightly going back because I passed a really nice lake I never noticed on the way up.

20191110_085210.jpg

The above photo that's the one, that is the money shot right there if there ever was one for me outside of the Grand Canyon it's the one. I seen it right after I crossed over into Arizona and knew right away no taking one through the windshield isn't going to get it with this I pulled the car off the road and got my ass out to take it. It was truly in the middle of nowhere but screw it that one is a winner.

The below photos are from another nice lake I happened to pass further into Navajo Nation

20191110_100625.jpg

20191110_100634.jpg

20191110_100640.jpg

20191110_100643.jpg

I made my way through Arizona and finally back to Elephant Butte. It was still early so I had time to get a nice bowl of homemade pozole. The next post may wrap everything up so stay tuned. I hope you have enjoyed everything so far. Thanks for stopping by and have a great night!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments