Sequencing

I’m practicing yoga at a new studio now that we’ve moved to Puerto Rico. I will call the new studio - APR. I love my old yoga center back in Tennessee . ♥️🕉♥️ Tennessee will always be my forever “yoga home.” But the changes in practice structure here are giving me lots of self insights and realizations.

17595309-72A2-4A29-B559-3792804FE23E.jpeg

For instance At APR...they don’t wait. It’s more Ashtanga based. They don’t read the room and wait for folks to transition to the next posture. They don’t linger longer if someone is struggling with or slowly enjoying a posture. They just call each pose and begin counting the breath, “1...2....” You better transition from one move to another, and get in to the pose quickly, or else you will miss your chance! This is SO different from how I am accustomed to practicing and I think is good for me. 😳 I tend to be slower than most. I want things to feel right, sometimes to linger for an extra self timed breath or two, and I have a tendency to overthink. But I’m also motivated by FOMO, so hell in this new class... I move faster!

8107A71A-05E6-4170-ABF8-CE1515F1154A.jpeg

Also the poses are a fixed sequence...vs what I or the teacher feels like doing for each day. This is just like sticking to a SCHEDULE, which is something I’ve struggled to commit to with consistency for my whole life and am recently retrying, yet again, to integrate following a more fixed schedule into my new life here in PR. You just do the pose that’s next in the sequence, or do the task that is scheduled on your calendar, and you finish when the time is up and move to the next pose or task.

This change in practice style is serendipitous and awesome mirroring for the shift towards a calm scheduled life that I’m working for off the mat.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center