Push-ups for Weightloss

Increasing Upper Body Strength at Home

I'm going to outline a workout I've used on many occasions after a long absence from the gym. My main goal when using this routine is to build muscle, lose fat, and increase strength. I typically avoid lifting weights until I am able to comfortably bench press 1 plate (135lb) for 3 sets of 10 - 12 reps (I'm 6'3 and weigh approx 225lb so this is a low bar for me to get across).

Day 1
Do as many push-ups as you can without stopping. Keep your form very strict, and don't rest at top or bottom of movement.

you will aim to do 60% of the amount you get to on day 1 on day 2 (i.e. if you can do 10 push-ups you will start with sets of 6 push-ups on day 2). If you can't do any push-ups, I suggest starting with doing them on your knees (keep your waist straight so you put weight on your arms during the movement).

Day 2
Do 10 sets of 60% of your max (calculated on Day 1) throughout the day. I like to spread them out, with some sets in the morning, some right after work, and some right before bed. Do not do all of the push-ups at one sitting, as part of the goal is to keep your body guessing.

If you get through all 10 sets increase the number of push-ups by 20% (round up if there is any remainder). So if you were doing 6 push-ups, you are now 8 (6 * 1.2 = 7.2 ... rounded up to next whole number).

Continue this pattern for days 3-5. Then take 2 days of rest, where you do no chest, triceps, or shoulder workouts.

I typically continue this routine until I can do sets of 50 comfortably (which takes approximately a month). I also use the same routine for chin-ups. If you are stuck at the same number of push-ups for more than 2 days, take a day off to rest.

You should see visible gains within a month.
Best of luck

Dahlsom

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center