Veganism: A Personal Journey and How It Changed My Perspective of the World

Veganism has deep roots. While the modern vegan movement was codified back in 1944 when Donald Watson established the Vegan Society, the ethical, environmental, and health-based philosophy of veganism nonetheless is enshrined in thought traditions that stretch several centuries. The will of living without hurting animals has become a part of different cultures in the history of humanity. Veganism is not only about nutrition; it is a stand in respect of animal rights, acknowledgment of the environment, and sustainable lifestyle. With the great destruction the livestock industry has caused to the ecosystems of the planet, it becomes obvious that veganism plays a very important role in preserving natural life. It results in more efficient use of resources, reduces deforestation and water consumption, and above all, it cuts down our carbon footprint right from its roots. With this awareness comes a life that is more answerable to nature and the life that surrounds it.

Most of my life was dictated by society with the kind of food I consumed. Grown up in a culture centered on meat, dairy, and other animal products, this definition started to break down little by little. Nutritional substances weren't just about being nutritional; they were about the lives of animals, about the environment. Once that realization kicked in, I started to question everything, and so began an inner journey. It was due to the happening of this journey that I interacted with veganism.

First, I viewed veganism as no more than an ethical stance on animal rights. The more I learned about the use of animals within the food and other industries, the more shocked I was by brutal realities such a system was using. I found through documentaries and articles that millions of animals are viewed as no more than commodities every day. After having watched animals' pungent lives in industrial farms, I couldn't help but feel very guilty for being part of that system. At that particular moment in time, I knew it would be necessary to make a radical change in my life.

My decision to go vegan wasn't motivated only by animal rights but also by environmental and health concerns. Articles that talked about the depletion of the world's resources brought to light how much damage we are causing to the earth. When I found out about the environmental effects that the livestock industry contributed, I knew I didn't want to be part of the problem. The destruction of large parts of the Amazon rainforest for livestock, the depletion of water sources, and increased levels of greenhouse gas emissions drove me into action. I realized that being vegan was one of the most effectual ways of reducing our ecological footprint.

Right after that, I began to feel the presence of this decision within my life. The first days were, of course, difficult; changing habits takes time to adapt. Reading product labels while grocery shopping to check for animal ingredients was annoyingly patience demanding. Also, limited vegan options in restaurants were a little hard to deal with. Nevertheless, with difficulties arising one after another, each passing day added to my will. I started feeling lighter, full of energy, and most importantly, at peace.

Reactions around people varied during the journey from meat eater to no-meat eater. When I announced my decision to go vegan, there were several who immediately jumped into asking me why I made such a decision and even looked into vegan recipes to help. While others found this decision a bit too extreme and incomprehensible. It was hard for my close circle of friends and family to finally give up the long-standing culinary tradition for me, so gradually, with time, they did get accustomed to it, trying to understand, on the whole, the ethical and ecological motives of such a decision. Since some time, it became important for me to explain people that veganism is not a way of nutrition but a way of life.

Another positive effect of veganism was on my health. After excluding meat and dairy products from my diet, I began to feel more energetic and alive. The digestive issues and problems with the stomach, which occurred before, had diminished. I realized that a plant-based diet covered all of my organism's nutritional needs. Of course, during this process, it was important to develop a kind of balanced eating plan. I looked up how to get enough protein, iron, and B12 from the right sources and adjusted my diet to that. Yeah, I had my share of mishaps, but instead of getting disheartened, they only made me sure that I did the right thing. The social difficulties, especially, were hard to deal with; with time, I learned how to overcome them. What people do not comprehend about veganism, their prejudices or misunderstandings, can only be overcome by talking openly, educating them, and approaching them in a very empathic way. On my path, I made sure to give my close circle around me reasons why veganism is actually quite powerful in ethical, environmental, and health perspectives.

One of the most spoken-about positive sides of veganism is its impact on the environment. The livestock industry is one of the biggest contributors to greenhouse gas emissions in the world. But what really inspired me was when, from this very industry, I learned how much devastating impact it inflicts on nature; through veganism alone, I can help minimize such effects. Each new passing day felt more and more at ease, knowing that I contributed a little less to the harm befalling our planet. Besides, it is becoming easier to start this lifestyle, since more and more vegan products or alternatives are appearing.

Finally, this journey has made me realize that this is not at all about personal transformation. The choice of veganism is not just about what we put inside our tummies but about how we live our obligation to the world. Little changes each can do put together a huge effect. I have learned from veganism that living respectfully, looking up to animals and nature, is possible. This kind of lifestyle has given me depth in meaning and connectedness to life.

Conclusion: Veganism has been something like an ethical and health revolution to me. It has changed my physical and mental health for good, and it has inspired those surrounding me. Can I recommend veganism? Absolutely, this is the kind of lifestyle that can change not only individuals but also the world. That means coming in time and following a given direction for this experience. Veganism gives a more conscious and responsible way of living, not only when it comes to food, but in all spheres of life.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center