Three years Vegan, what i'm eating now and what I should be doing.

At current I am not a shining example with my diet though I am eating a lot of "peasant" plant-based whole foods as it is cheaper and I can't afford to shop much these days, every now and then I am eating frankly junk food. Due to my current work commitments I find it difficult to eat as I would like and with it being cold in the UK during winter eating cold food isn't appealing when out in the elements all day, cooked foods definitely for now.

Once I find my new job I intend to go back to a fully whole food plant based diet and this was the way I found worked for me personally...
I would start the morning with Porridge/Oatmeal with Bananas or some other fruit, maybe some Cinnamon, Water would be very important first thing too as your body dehydrates over night.
During the day I would snack on fruit and would have a salad, I particularly love Cherry Vine Tomatoes when they were in season and would toss Hemp seeds into it.
When I got home I would have my cooked meal, plenty of steamed Vegetables especially greens and would have something filling whether that be a wholewheat Pasta, wild Rice or sweet Potatoes.
I would aim to eat 2500 calories a day which may seem a lot but I lost weight, I also lost a lot of water retention which made my figure look better still this was because I kept Salt intake to a minimum of 5 milligrams and i'd only use a natural rock Salt.
Nothing refined, no junk... apart from the odd square portion of high quality dark Chocolate as a treat.

I have never been in the position to try out a raw Vegan diet or Fruitarian diet, the dream would be to live in Thailand for a time to explore these options especially since the quality of the fruit from the source with the sun is better than what is on offer in our supermarkets or street farmers markets here. I could probably live off Mangosteens, they taste like candy and i've not even had a fresh one yet so I can imagine how much better it could taste.

What Vegan diet is working for you? What whole foods do you love most?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now