Vanlife Views

This is my ocean front room on the beaches of Malibu. When you travel in a van, the best views in the world are available from the comfort of you own room!

About this scene: this was about 3 weeks (4,000 miles) into a western road trip. I had been climbing mountains, and surviving some cold weather, so I was in search of warmth. I decided to drive down HWY 1 to SoCal. During this stretch, my van was acting up, and I was sure that a repair was needed. I found this beautiful free parking spot, along Surfrider Beach in Malibu. As I enjoy my morning pancakes, I wonder what the next days might bring.

This beach is one of the most famous surfing destinations, known for its perfect waves. So obviously, I bought a surfboard and wetsuit on Craigslist, and joined the surfing culture for a few days. I sold the wetsuit and board when I was finished.

When I decided to leave this spot, I started the van, and got 2 blocks down the road before stalling in the middle of HWY 1. I called AAA and got a tow truck to bring me to the nearest Oreillys auto store. The employees at the shop were very kind, and allowed me to repair my van in their lot. After 8 hours of replacing the A/C compressor, I was back on the road and head for Utah.

Follow for more Vanlife stories! IMG_2411.PNG
Listen to my podcast: Inside The Vanlife

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center