Kim's Quest #24: Dahilayan Forest & Adventure Parks, Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon

Dahilayan Forest Park, Dahilayan, Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon.
[1/250 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 500, 15.0 mm]

Hello steemians and travellers!

I was hesitant to post this one because I'm not confident on how to package this content. I guess I'm afraid that someone might say that it's "boring" or "it's not that good". But then I realized I posted something on Facebook last October and it goes like this:

[1/250 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 500, 15.0 mm]

I blog not because I wanted to be famous, but because I wanted to document the places I visited. Time will come when I don't have the energy to do those things anymore and all I have are memories. I wanted to preserve those memories as pristine as they were.
When I discovered Steem, it was all about earning something while sharing your content. Now, it's more on storage of memories. Because it's immutable, as long as there are nodes running, I can always access my content anywhere.

[1/320 secs @ f/11.0, ISO 6400, 19.7 mm]

It takes time and effort to create a content. From photo editing, to writing, to formatting, to making sure that the final outcome satisfies your taste, it takes conscious effort. But I have to make sure that those memories are properly packaged for storage.
I don't remember in detail what I did in the office a week ago, but I can still vividly remember what we did in Carnaza Island three years ago. That will be my answer to those who might question my choice. I just want to collect memories while I still can.

[1/320 secs @ f/11.0, ISO 2000, 30.5 mm]

I realized that I may be too occupied in making my posts the best as they can be for everyone that I forgot the reason why I do blogging in the first place. I realized that every time I encounter some negativities, I should just go back to very first reason why I do these things in the first place.


[1/200 secs @ f/3.5, ISO 100, 15.0 mm]

Thank you for bearing with me. Welcome to the 24th edition of Kim's Quest! It's time to showcase other places in the Philippines aside from Cebu. This time, it will be about our adventure in Dahilayan Forest & Adventure Parks in Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon.

[1/200 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 800, 15.0 mm]

This adventure was when we visited our friends in Cagayan de Oro City. We toured around CDO and on our second day, we chose to have a blast in Dahilayan.

DAHILAYAN FOREST & ADVENTURE PARKS
Mindanao's Favorite Extreme Playground


Asia's Longest Dual Zipline

[1/200 secs @ f/4.4, ISO 400, 27.1 mm]

[1/240 secs @ f/2.2, ISO 100, 2.93 mm]
Dahilayan Adventure Park boasts its 840-meter zip line which is considered as one of the longest dual zip line in Asia. It became famous when actors and actresses in national TV dared the challenge. The launch point is about 1 kilometer away from the park which sits at 4500 feet above sea level. Our first activity the moment we reached Dahilayan was the zip line. I was so excited because it was my first time to try a zip line that long.

[1/440 secs @ f/2.2, ISO 100, 2.93 mm] | [1/540 secs @ f/2.2, ISO 100, 2.93 mm]

[1/420 secs @ f/2.2, ISO 100, 2.93 mm]
I have an almost 2-minute video, but I don't know how to embed it here. There was a certificate that you completed the challenge and photos are available to be redeemed after, but I find them expensive. I redeemed one photo together with the certificate, but I lost it somehow. It was a fun experience and it's worth noting that flying/gliding in the air for a few minutes felt liberating.

[1/200 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 1600, 20.9 mm]

There's a shorter version of the zip line which was also part of the package. You will be seated this time while zipping past pine trees. There are other activities as well like the Flying Lizard, Sky Tower Base Jump Ride, Drop Zone Sky Wing, Zorb Ball Ride, and many more. At the lower portion of the park, there's an obstacle course both for children and adults alike.

Under the Pine Trees

[1/250 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 640, 23.5 mm]

Dahilayan Forest & Adventure Parks are located at the foothills of Mt. Kitanglad, the second highest mountain in the Philippines. Due to its elevation, pine trees grow abundantly in the area. The ambience under the pine trees together with its cool climate is perfect to get moody.


[1/320 secs @ f/13.0, ISO 25600, 15.2 mm]

Of course I didn't miss the opportunity to have a photo under those towering pine trees. It's really cool, literally and figuratively, to be under those trees. Don't forget to bring sweater or jacket with you when you visit the parks. Bringing an umbrella can be handy since there's a high chance of rain in the area especially during the afternoon.

[1/320 secs @ f/11.0, ISO 25600, 15.2 mm]

More photos and awkward poses from me and my friends:

[1/320 secs @ f/8.0, ISO 25600, 15.0 mm]

[1/320 secs @ f/13.0, ISO 25600, 18.6 mm] | [1/320 secs @ f/11.0, ISO 25600, 45.0 mm]

[1/320 secs @ f/13.0, ISO 25600, 15.2 mm]

Forest Park

[1/250 secs @ f/11.0, ISO 500, 15.0 mm]

I thought that the two parks are one and the same, but actually, they're not. No wonder we payed two different entrance fees. They're two different parks that are adjacent to each other.

[1/250 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 5000, 16.6 mm] | [1/250 secs @ f/10.0, ISO 2500, 15.0 mm]

While Dahilayan Adventure Park is perfect for adventurers and thrill seekers, Forest Park is for all ages. Benches, tables and chairs, and other amenities are good for picnics and family casual get away.

[1/250 secs @ f/11.0, ISO 12800, 15.0 mm]

We were not able to enjoy all the rides of the two parks because we're on a tight budget, but it was a fun and memorable experience. When you're with family and friends, it doesn't matter what you do, it will always be memorable. I guess that's all for this post. See you in my next adventure!

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in the Steem blockchain. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines) and the rest of the world (it will just follow since he's still a poor, corporate slave with tons of bills to pay and two siblings to support in college).

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now