Travel With Liz #Icebreaker ships and snow hotels in Kemi, Finland

Hello steemit Friends
image
image
image
As we took off from the harbor, I spent most of my time outside on deck watching the ice swirl by as we made our way through an already cut shipping lane.
image
image
image
image
Sampo was build in 1960 in Helsinki and used for almost thirty years cutting channels through the ice in northern Finland for shipping vessels before it was retired and turned into a tourist cruise. To be honest, that is not something I would normally be super interested in but I found myself really enjoying learning something new, and even pestering the crew to let me see how things work, the engine room, can I toot the horn? No you may not.
image
image
image
Thanks

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center