Diving Down 45m/150ft to Monkey Face Rock

Descending to Monkey Face Rock on Roatan, Honduras

Rocketing down the coral wall face, the Roatan Tec Team plunges to 45m/150ft to explore a deep massive overhang that I've named "Monkey Face Rock."

It's hard to describe the exhilarating rush that comes with a rapid deep drop! Pulled down by the weight of our four tanks, we have to be constantly diligent about adding air into our BCDs in order to counter the accelerating descent. By the time we bottom out at our max depth, we have added a very large volume of air -- almost all of which we have to vent during our ascent. On deep tec dives, I've found myself dumping air as deep as 40m/130ft during the ascent!

The awesome photo by Alex Harper-Graham was snapped at the beginning of dive #2241, [which ended with approaching Pillar Coral from the deep side -- and seeing a hammerhead shark!


Want to know more about tec diving or traveling to Roatan? Leave me a comment and I'll be glad to answer your questions! Please upvote and resteem me, and follow me at @thescubageek to keep up with my latest adventures.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now