A Fish Monger and his Dog in Playa Del Carmen

Several weeks ago, Brian and I were out for a walk and stopped for a drink on 5th avenue, the main tourist drag in Playa Del Carmen. I saw this guy 'pull up' on his bike across the street from where we were sitting...
etwt2dj4sy.png

and the ladies in the store came running out, smiling, happy to see him. I quickly realized he was selling something, so I wandered over to have a look.
x5dwn40lyy.png

Look at the fresh fish speared that morning! Grouper, it's called. Such a good fish, even the manager at the restaurant we were at went and purchased some, but he told us it was to feed the staff because it's cheaper than the fish they have to buy from the restaurant supplier.
qtcdecm5po.png

I was talking with the fisherman who said that he normally sells out by early afternoon. What a great way for us to buy fish; you can't get much fresher than that! We didn't buy any that day however, because it was so hot and we weren't planning on heading home too soon.

Then I noticed something else on the bicycle cart with him!
46fzkkhdc0.png

Look at the size of that dog! :) (the orange 'Restaurant' sign in the background was where we were enjoying a drink)
uo3djkea7w.png

So cute! and not once did he attempt to grab a fish either. If it had been my old dog , Mr. Misbehaved, I would have had to muzzle him :) Actually, his name was Max and he was bad, but really cute!
4g5mn0ykj2.png

The outdoor seating along this street is awesome for people watching too; one of my all time favorite pastimes! And this was my favorite couple of the day. Do you think she packed for the holiday? :) Wouldn't it be awesome if either of them saw this and commented to me too?!
mereqb2g4c.png

Hope you enjoyed this little find with me; have an awesome weekend everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center