Let me take you to the beautiful island of Tenerife

Tenerife is one of the 7 islands of the Canary Islands. It is situated in the Atlantic Ocean, about 198 miles (318 km) off the northwest cost of Africa but it belongs to Spain.

Tenerife's weather is consistent with warm days throughout the year!

This was one of the reasons why I decided to go there because it was freezing cold in Germany last January :) I just had to escape the cold weather!

I also have to say that the prices were really low. I guess not a lot of people are traveling around this time of the year. I worked between the holidays, where most people take days off.

First picture I took before we landed

In Tenerife you can find beaches with BLACK SAND!
It is the result of a volcanic basaltic coastline being eroded by the sea. That was my first time seeing black sand. It was different and I liked it!
In the middle of the Island of Tenerife sits Mount Teide (the highest mountain in Spain). It is also the world's third largest ocean-island volcano and is still active!

Interesting side story:
In 1998 a little group of a religious cult were going to go to the summit of Mount Teide and commit suicide because they believed that an UFO would be waiting there to transfer their souls to a new world. The police found out and could stop them before something happened.

You can take beautiful walks right next to the water

I also loved our hotel. It felt like we were the only people there haha. Like I already said, it looks like people don't travel a lot in January. The pool area was empty, restaurants were empty (good for us, so we didn't have to wait long for our food :)) even the spa area was empty. The hotel workers were super friendly since it was not busy at all.

For me it was a perfect get away from the cold weather :)

-Nadine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center