Almost set!

In my last post I was exploring our accommodation options for our big adventure. I decided on a full caravan and was leaning towards a decent-sized one so we could have the luxury of a separate toilet and shower as well. I was also going to sell my Navara and trade it in for an automatic to help me get over this very womanly fear (sorry to my fellow-women out there) I have of hill starts in a manual while towing a caravan (and going through several clutches a year)!

I ended up keeping my Navara and added a few bells and whistles so it was ready for towing. It already had a dual battery set up and 2inch lift kit so I had a canopy put on, 12 pin and anderson plug for the caravan. I picked up some new tyres (I wanted BFG AT ones but got Nitto AT as they were 4 for the price of 3) from Bob Jane. I hope I don't regret the slight downgrade of the tyres. Time will tell!

The only other thing I wanted to add was a reversing camera so I didn't need a spotter when hooking the caravan up. I am hoping there will always (or most of the time) be a willing helper where we are camped. If not it's something I can get installed along the way.

So here's the gem of a van we picked up:
Jayco Destiny 17ft. Equipped with:

  • Combo toilet and shower (it was so hard to find this in a van under 19ft);
  • Single axles (was hoping for double but of course it's not mandatory for this size. It was also very interesting the arguments a salesman at one of the caravan yards was using to try and convince me that single axles are far better. Of course the van he was trying to sell me was a single axle!);
  • Suspension lift (fits well to my car with its suspension lift);
  • 12v battery system with solar panels on the roof (there is no inverter. I am wondering if I will miss it but again, this is something I can get added along the way if I do miss it. I also have a 600W inverter I bought from SuperCheap Auto that I can plug into the Anderson plug on my car if I need to run something 240V while free camping. The juicer of course comes to mind!!);
  • 2 x 90L water tanks and an 80L grey water tank. I'm not sure I'll use the grey water tank as it's extra (unnecessary) weight I'll have to cart around;
  • cafe-style table, which the long side has been modified and 2 bunks (although shorter ones) added in. Emily just fits in them now so I'll have to extend the bottom one for her growing legs soon! There is an easy short-term fix, which is just getting another piece of mattress cut to add on the end. Although I hope to get someone to extend the whole bunks at some stage.
  • TV and aerial (pretty standard these days);
  • gas hot water system;
  • gas outlet on the outside of the caravan to hook a bbq up to;
  • sway bars;
  • aircon;
  • spot for a washing machine. I am going to do without to start with and see if I will miss it. $220 or something from BCF if we do miss it.

It doesn't have the greatest amount of storage but given its size it's not too bad. I actually did a major cull ready for the trip so have had no trouble fitting everything we "need" in.

I am also tossing up whether to put bike racks on and take both bikes or just put Emily's bike in the back of the ute. She needs a lot of practice and I'm guessing she won't be riding it fast enough for me to be on my bike for a while.

The car is having an allover safety check on Monday and then we are ready!!

What do you guys think? Will I miss an inverter and a washing machine in the caravan? Do I get bike racks or do I just take Emily's bike?car and caravan.jpg
caravan.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now