Trip to Poland

image

This week I was visiting Poland for a change from all the mountain hiking.
On my first day, I visited the modern city of Gdynia where here is a beach and boulevard right in the city center.

image

image

image

The next day I went to visit the historical city of Gdansk.

Artur's Court from the XVI and XVII century was the symbol of Gdansk power where merchants and dignitaries met.

image

The crane for XIV AD was built to transfer cargo onto ships. It was the biggest crane in the medieval world and could lift up to 4 tonnes to a height of 12 meters

image

The Green Gate by the Motlawa river.

image

image

The famous Golden Gate from XVII AD.

image

image

image

I also saw the Gothic church of St. Mary which is now Catholic but used to be protestant. It the largest brick church in the world and was built in XIV AD.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

The next day I visited Sopot the sea resort.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Following days I spent at my parent's countryside cottage.

image

image

And went for a few bike trips.

image

It's a very old wooden church.

image

There was a reconstruction of some old farmer houses.

image

image

The names are in two languages polish and Pomeranian.

image

The very old water mill is turned into a house.

image

image

image

Two years ago this area experienced a cataclysm of a 200 km per hour winds that destroyed all the forest and took the roof of the houses. Another sad result of climate change.

image

On my last day, I went to walk the coastline of the Baltic Sea in Gdynia.

image

image

image

image

Thank you for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency