Gail Travels: Short Trip to Sugar Beach, Sipalay (April 2017)

received_1414235525317948.jpeg

My head is aching pretty bad and it feels so nasty. I want to puke. I wante to cry. I want to finish folding the laundry but I ended up rolling on the floor. Just right now, I want to share with you our short trip to Sipalay last April. And maybe after posting this, I will have a quick nap.

Our trip occured during the holy week (a week after my boyfriend visited me in Cagayan de Oro) with my family. I was not expecting it would be grandeur because my dad has always been so... how do you say that? Thriefty?

Anyway, we travelled to Negros via land and water. We passed over the southern portion of Mindanao in a bus and then rode a boat that would take us to Negros.

Before we reached Negros, I had been asking my boyfriend the route that would lead my family and I to Sipalay. My parents wanted to stay there for a short time including Perth because they saw how great it was in pictures on one of my dad's friends in Facebook.

Kenneth then came with the idea that instead of commuting, he would tour us instead. Since it was holy week, access of bus is hard. We might end up stuck in Dumaguete City instead. Kenneth borrowed his dad's car fortunately and he was our driver for three days. I am great to be up with such a persistent person.

The three day trip was really tiring especially for our driver. It was all worth it though seeing the vast and verdant mountains filled with trees and sugar cane. We thought of getting lost but then maps.me was a very useful map for navigation. I still use it but I have a hard time understanding/ reading maps.

received_1414236198651214.jpeg

When we reached Dumaguete City, we were so hungry. It was past 2 in the afternoom already so we decided to have lunch at Harbor City. While having our lunch, I really felt so nervous because it was the first encounter of Kenneth and my family. I think they like him already.

We passed over Mabinay and went to their spring. There were a lot of people around since it was holiday.
received_1414235308651303.jpeg

Moving forward, we went to Bayawan to meet some friends from our daughter church.

received_1414236078651226.jpeg

The house of Pastor Ed was situated near the mountainside. It was pretty cold already because of the trees surrounding the place.

It was almost 9 in the evening when we reached Sugar Beach at Sipalay. The people were speaking Ilonggo but we could understand them somehow. We thought that we would be stuck inside the car but luckily they gave us an accomodation.

It was almost 10 in the evening when we rode a bangka or small boat that led us to DriftWood Village. It was dark and it was just the moon illuminating the sea. I was a little sleepy so I leaned on Kenneth. Anyway, my parents do not mind since-- it was pretty dark.


This is how sugar beach looked in the morning. It got its name Sugar because the sand was as fine as sugar.

We were kinda sleepy so my parents rented a cottage, while Kenneth, Jose (my younger brother) and I shared a dorm together. It was really fun because we occupied the second floor of the nipa hut and there were tourists on the second floor.

Kenneth and I shared the same matress while Jose has his own too. I just did not know what happened that I almost broke up with Kenneth. He ended up staying awake til dawn just to make sure I fell asleep because he was afraid I would ran away from them and jump over the sea. Pretty crazy right?

On our second day, we enjoyed the beach. Well, it was just my parents who enjoyed it because we feel so sleepy.
received_1414236081984559.jpeg

received_1414235218651312.jpeg
Look how joyous my brother and dad (@alfredotongco) are in this photo. I really cannot stop laughing at their antics.

received_1414235688651265.jpeg

received_1414235845317916.jpeg

received_1414235088651325.jpeg
Almost everyone in the island were just chilling including this dog.

received_1414236145317886.jpeg

PhotoGrid_1510330919553.jpg
We had our breakfast first before leaving this island.

received_1414236351984532.jpeg
I really loved it there since it was so cozy especially at night. The water is also so clear. I joked them multiple times that I would love to jump, I was wearing life jacket anyway.

We were then back travelling and looking for a place to stay. Gladly we found one which is just near the small port of Bais. Kenneth decided to go home because his dad was looking for him.

In the evening, we went to the city proper of Bais to have dinner. I tried their version of tocino. It was sold only for 2 pesos per piece. The night market was fun as it was filled with a lot of people.

Kenneth went back in the morning, it was still 4 in the morning and brought us breakfast. Sweet! And while everyone else is still sleeping I took a chance on kissing him on the lips. Yay! Parang teenager lang ang peg!

Our itinerary for that day is to have a glimpse of the Manjuyod Sandbar. Those were sandbars that had been disputed by Bais and Manjuyod. We rented a boat for Php3,500.00 only.

received_1414234678651366.jpeg
I think this has also been showed on TV with Atom Araullio.

After visiting the sandbar, we then went for some dolphin watching.

received_1414234241984743.jpeg
Before we reached the sanctuary of dolphins, I really thought that day would be the death of me because the waves are so strong and big.

I must say it was a fun experience. I have seen a lot of dolphins and they swim in groups. I have also seen a small dolphin with pink belly. They were really very playful. I even caught them on video (and I saved it over my facebook account).

After the dolphin watching, we went to the Crystal Cave.

received_1414235158651318.jpeg

PhotoGrid_1510331227259.jpg

I forgot how much we paid though, but I remember we went in groups. I really love this place because it looks so mysterious and magnificent at the same time. There were just few bats inside the caves.

It was time to leave then and go back to Dumaguete City. We bought some pasalubong from Tanjay and I felt the separation anxiety creeping in.
received_1414234185318082.jpeg

We were so fortunate that we were able to buy ticket from the seaport. And we were off then to Pagadian for few hours before we travelled back to Cagayan de Oro for 8 hours.

Photos taken using LG Stylus 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now