Someday, UK

I'm a patriotic American who loves this land, but my absolute favorite country in the world is England and the UK in general. I've felt that way since I was a little boy and would watch British TV shows when they were on. The culture, the history, the accents, the food all appealed to me.

I was born on the east coast of the United States. Here, some people will say that they were born on the "wrong" coast, as they feel more in tune with the culture and lifestyle of the other. I feel the same way about the west coast. I should've been born in "SoCal" (Southern California), or the hippie portions of Washington state or Oregon. I would've been right at home in any of those areas.

My family is southern, and moved north for more job opportunities and a better life. I've ALWAYS wanted to visit England, and jumped at the chance in 2017. I can still remember flying over the tip of Greenland (I should've had my layover there, as Greenland is yet ANOTHER country I love), then had a short stop in Iceland, before heading to what felt like "Home" in "Blighty."

The biggest mistake I made was to spend only 24 hours in Birmingham before heading to the continent. As soon as I touched down I felt right at home, and the British people that I spoke to were so warm and kind to me.

So much history and culture in this land and I didn't give myself enough time to sample hardly any of it. But If I'm drop-kicked by a kangaroo tomorrow and head off to meet my maker, I'll die happy that I finally got to walk the streets of the country that I love so much.

Terrified of flying, I spoke to the British Border guards about my fear of getting on planes, and they suggested that I apply for asylum like so many others.

I don't know if people realize just how difficult it is to obtain permanent residency in the UK (the proper way, that is). If I were from Syria, Afghanistan, or Africa, I could simply hop in a boat with no money or ID and cross the English Channel, and be welcomed as a refugee.

But as an American not fleeing a war, I was faced with a long interrogation at the airport by a stern British official, and had to produce all kinds of documents as well as proof that I had at least $4000 to support myself.

I distinctly remember him asking me where I was staying and what time my plane was leaving (I had to show him my pass and everything). I was admonished to "make sure you make that plane!" before they allowed me entry into the country.

Whew!

Trying to obtain British residency (on the pathway to citizenship) involves navigating a Byzantine maze of paperwork, fees, as well as background checks and underpublicized deadlines in order to have a chance at making it through.

I don't know if they still offer the investors Visa that they did then. I think you had to invest 2 million Pounds into a UK business in order to qualify. But I'm the type who'd want to do it the correct way and not end up being a burden on the long-suffering UK taxpayers.

My English classmates in Germany were angry at the interrogation I had to go through at the airport compared to the refugee boats that get picked up from the channel, with the occupants being offered accommodation while they await the outcome of their asylum application.

That's probably why the border guards and airport employees at Gatwick suggested that I apply for asylum like the refugees, but that seems wrong to me, and like I said, I would never want to be a burden.

I like reading about the transplants from West Africa that HAVE made a new home (and life) over there, and would love one day to join them. Godspeed to those that are there, and I wish you nothing but the best in your new life in "Blighty" And with any luck (and a big lottery jackpot win), one day, I just might get to join you. :)

If you found this post informative or inspiring, please leave an upvote, comment or reblog. And if you haven't already: Join Hive!

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1, 2, 3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments