Traveling as a couple for under $50 usd a day is POSSIBLE and 100% worth it. (Video)

"You two are absolutely crazy"

If Danny and I had an extra dollar for every time someone told us we were absolutely crazy for leaving the comfort of our homes to travel Central & South America as backpackers, we would have stayed at five star resorts at every location we visited.

But, because that did not happen, we had to manage our budget carefully...and doing that got us from Mexico City all the way to the south of Chile in almost 8 months of travel and "once in a lifetime experiences" through the countries of Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Bolivia, Perú and Chile. I have to admit that the master of managing the budget, was Danny, so...thanks again my love. =)

And YES, we spent about 50usd a day (including flights)

We live in a huge world that has become tiny because of technology and transportation. Take advantage of that. It is no longer a voyage of months to get from one continent to another and platforms like airbnb really help the modern day traveller. We stayed at amazing places for under 20 bucks a night...for the both of us. But... you have to travel like a local, put up with a lot of low quality buses, trains, boats and taxis to get from one place to another and do everything and anything to avoid the tourist traps, including western places to eat.

Plan ahead, and a small amount of money will get you a very long way.

Check out the Video

There were so many amazing moment during this journey and I will continue to share them in unique posts. For today, I put together a short film of many video clips I took with my Canon 6D in Central America. (Video of South America, coming soon)

Note that I mostly like to shoot photographs, so I did not spend too much time shooting video. However, I hope you enjoy these 4 minutes of what Danny and I experienced in a many months.

How to travel with 50usd or less?

This is probably what you are still wondering and there are really good answers for that. Even though Danny and I travelled on a budget, we got to see and enjoy so much that we would probable do it again and again.

We know the value of travel and the happiness it brings so sharing what we know will be a pleasure. I promise to write a full post on how we managed to travel with under 50usd a day and give you average expenses pero country and location.

In the meanwhile, if you have questions or comments, please share and we will reply.

Enjoy. Peace.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center