Letters to Steemit - Dublin

Dear Steemians,
I hope this letter finds you well, my adventures have come to their final conclusion. These last two weeks have been a much needed rejuvenation for my soul. It has sparked my imagination and thanks to you Steem I am writing again, so for that I am truly grateful. I plan to keep this blog sort of going as I have traveled a lot and will continue but it in the down time it will transform into a travel support guide aiming at not being a tourist while traveling. SO let’s see what Dublin has to offer shall we?

Dublin Pt.1-

Even with my all day nap with plane nap I was still not at all ready to be alive in Dublin, or as I call it “the Island where wet dreams come from” (I have a serious thing for redheads). I had rented a car before I landed as I had grand plans of driving up the coast to Belfast and around Ireland entirely. I probably could have done it if I was willing to pay the 25 Euro a DAY bullshit insurance rates Budget has. After arguing there was no information posted in either the email or the booking page about the 1500 required NOT to have the insurance. So I get all my money refunded (fuck your 30 euro charge) and realize there is now an adventure afoot. How the fuck am I getting from the airport to my hostel with no decently function Wi-Fi and location (so uber is shite) and I’m out of physical Euros so the bus is out. TAXI here I come, but not without grabbing a flat white and talking with the coffee girl a bit first.


Pro Tip: The buses from the airport run all night and will cost you at most 10 so that is going to be your best choice BUT I do suggest asking people in line if they might be going where you are going. Temple Bar is pretty standard so you can save money and meet someone at the same time.

Now for me I almost always ask to split a cab but not all cabs are created equal, cabs that take card are few and far between, so 23 later I’m at my hostel and like the half alive dumb shit I am I FAILED TO TIP. But the driver got to make a snarky ass remark about it so I think we are even. There I stood on the corner of Gogarty’s pub/hostel/music; ya know what Gogarty’s has so much shit going on it owns like a quarter of the block. Going to say this now if you LIKE sleep when at a hostel this is NOT the spot for you. My dating life in HS had less of a turnover rate than my room. Over all I wasn’t that impressed with Gogarty’s, they had some solid reviews but it felt like you were getting a Forman Grill when you thought you paid for Forman himself.

Pro Tip: Always book your room with free cancelation, breakfast, and private bathroom. I’m a cheap son of a bitch and the extra 3 dollars/euro etc up front to possibly get 200 or so back in a pinch is worth it. Not getting up for breakfast is like leaving money on the table in a drug deal you can do it, but you feel like an idiot when you do.

Breakfast Options:
Fruit, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, some sort of soup and salad.

It could be that I only ever got up 15 before they stopped serving, who the fuck has an 8 am breakfast start when no one even got actual sleep before 2 am is beyond me. The front desk is pretty brisk with the conversation, personally I like my hostel workers to KNOW something about the city without pointing to a pamphlet or saying “google”. So Monday I went adventuring Temple bar solo and I found the Ireland Film Institute (http://ifi.ie/) and watched one of the most gawd awful movies I’ve watched in a long time Cardboard Gangsters (I’ll do a review of this, actually I plan to do the Street Art and Food reviews of my trip separately). After the movie I was pretty spent and figured it was best to just be an old fart, head back to the hostel and catch up on my steemit posts, and hopefully get some rest.

Remember Upvote, follow, re-steem, Comment all the goody goody.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center