Preparing for Thailand trip. But first i must see the President !!

image

So as you can see I'm not in Thailand yet. However as a southern fella from the good Ole state of South Carolina, USA, I am already in a strange and new land.... And I haven't left my country yet.
image

I AM IN..... Washington DC, The nation's capital. It's one of my sightseeing stops on my way to New York JFK Airport where I will depart for my adventures in Thailand. First stop on arrival was the metro station.
image

Being from the lowlands of South Carolina this was a new experience for me. Never have I used a public transit system but also never been underground in a tunnel on a train. So amazing how they built this giant system under the city where from above you wouldn't know it was even there. image
(NOT THE RIGHT WAY INTO SUBWAY)

image

It was very clean the times were fast and super easy to navigate the city with especially for this fat guy who doesn't like to walk haha. One thing that surprised me the most about the train was its acceleration.. Having been on trains like amtrak and living by a train station for freight trains, I know how slow it is to take off this was not the case here. Boom and we were off. Hold on or you'll wind up face to poll like I did.

Next stop was the Washington monument.
image

By far I have to say TV does not do this justice. It is massive. And with the lawn in front of it. My gosh epic. There were not many folks around so it made for. Good pictures. And the virtigo haha. Yup call it what you will. I have to say it's one of those things you have to see in person to really appreciate.

image

Surrounding the lawn and obelisk happens to be some of the best museums in the country. The Smithsonian museums. My gosh.. One day is no where near enough to even see one fully. But to have 5 of them all. Within walking distance. Wow.! Best part they are completely free. I went to two and I was beat.
Best part they are FREE 🆓.!!!!!!

Inside are relics from America's past. As well as the latest in technology and the weird of the human body and animals. So much to cover such a small blog. All I can say is go see it. But be prepared for tight security upon going in. It was almost as bad as the airport security.
Here are a few random quick shots while I was speeding through these amazing places definitely on my come back and chill list.

image image
image
image
image

Last but not least back on the subway and over to where it all happens. The White House.
image
I must say.... I definitely thought it would be much bigger than it is. That doesn't mean I still wasn't impressed. But on TV it just seemed so much bigger to me. image

Easy to get to and easy to see. It was nice to sit in the park across the street and people watch as the Washington monument peeked its crown over the roof of the White House from behind. Amazing! Is all I have to say.

So now what. The day is over and my quick run through capital hill is over. We'll only 2 more days till I leave for the land of a million smiles. I have driven to Atlantic city, New Jersey. And tommorow will start my adventure here for the day. Then off to New York. Come Join me will you. As the fat bearded guy makes his way up the coast and around the world! And yes my pictures are all weird eSteem seems to have a formatting issue tonight. Or either it is user noob error. Haha.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now