My thoughts on.....Ketogenic diet

Hello steemians,

Im back for another post on something that i recently started as my new years resolution.
When i mention new years resolution, i think most of the people in the world would have "I want live and eat healthy" or " I want to lose my fat and get fit" as their goal. But how many of you have tried on the first month of the year and then stopped after just 1-2 months of effort?
Well i know i did. Every single year since 2012 i tried to really decrease my body fat percentage down to single digits but eventually failed.
I got the exercising habit implemented in my life so that was great to maintain my healthy bodyweight.
but there was something i cant quite quit and that is EATING.
I LOVE to eat! who doesnt??
Because of this, it was hard for me to achieve my desired body fat percentage because of my eating habits.

This year though, i have decided to try once more on trying to get that magic number of a single digit fat percentage.
I must say that i think i might succeed in doing that soon!

This is all thanks to KETOGENIC DIET! I swear that this diet truly fits my lifestyle. Hence, making it easy for me to consistently follow through on it.

So what exactly is ketogenic diet?

What-is-the-Ketogenic-Diet.jpg

Ketogenic diet is a form of low carb diet that focuses more on high fat,moderate protein and low carb consumption.
Widely known as keto diet or low carb high fat (LCHF) diet.

Before we talk about how keto diet works, let me explain how our body uses carbs as energy first.
Usually when our body consumes carbs, it will be broken down into glucose and insulin via the glycolysis process.
Glucose is the easiest molecule for your body to convert and use as energy so that it will be chosen over any other energy source. Where as insulin is produced to process the glucose in your bloodstream by taking it around the body.
Now since glucose is used as the primary fuel for the body because of its efficiency. The fats in our body will be stored instead. Since we dont ever stop eating carbs, our stored fat in our body will never have the chance to be used and makes it that much harder to lose it.

Now lets get into how keto works. Keto diets uses a process called ketosis where our body breaks down fat in our liver to create ketones which will be the alternative for glucose in our body. Ketosis is a natural process the body initiates to help us survive when food intake is low
The way to get into ketosis is the hard part. We would only be able to get into ketosis once all the glucose in our body is used up, thus initiating the body response to get into ketosis.
The end goal of a properly maintained keto diet is to force your body into this metabolic state. We don’t do this through starvation of calories but starvation of carbohydrates.

How keto diet has impacted my life

So i have started keto diet on 17 February 2018. It has been almost 4 months since i started.
I must say that i am truly happy with what i have achieved in this time frame.

17 feb 2018

bodyweight = 84kg
waist size = 34 inches
body fat % = 24%
IMG_0372[1].JPG

8 march 2018

IMG_0510[1].JPG
IMG_0511[1].JPG

5 may 2018 (time of wrinting)

bodyweight = 78kg
waist size = 32 inches
body fat % = 16%
IMG_E1013[1].JPG
IMG_E0999[1].JPG

Why I love keto diet

Now the reason why i am able to stay consistent with keto diet is because i dont have to starve myself like most diets (since i love to eat,starving is a NO NO). Plus high fat consumption in your diet actually makes you feel fuller than a high carb diet. I basically dont feel hungry as often after keto diet.
How bout calories? i dont really mind how much calories i take to be honest. Since in this day and age,you are more likely to find more carbs anywhere than fat. So when you go keto diet, it is kinda hard to always eat enough unless you are able to prepare your own food (I personnally cant cook so i try to find places where i can have a decent keto meal).

Hardest thing when on keto diet

Two words.....NO PASTRIES! This is the only thing I dont like about keto diet. My sweet lovely crispy pastries are no longer in the menu. T.T
But I found some recipe to make keto cookies and cakes. So might not be such a big problem after all. Just have to learn to bake it myself. #feelsbadman

So i think this is it on my thoughts on keto diet. I tried to keep it simple so pardon me if I didnt provide enough information about ketogenic diet as a whole. For more in depth info you can visit this link https://www.dietdoctor.com/low-carb/keto.

To the people who arrived to the end of this post, i thank you for reaching here.
So until my next post, i will be seeing you then.

Diddy89

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now