An Australian living as an International Expedition guide. Part 1. The journey so far.

Let me start this by firstly stating that I love Australia. It is a beautiful country filled with some amazing people. A lot of my close friends and incredibly supportive family live in Australia and though I don't get to see them as much as I would like to BUT unfortunately this is just what life can be at times. However, I knew from a young age that sitting still and working your "normal" 9-5pm, Monday to Friday job wasn't my thing & never would be. My parents are starting to come around and understand my traveling nature these days and actually follow me to different parts of the world to travel and explore. I spent my early twenties traveling around Australia working in Hospitality, in places such as Yalara (Uluru or Ayer's rock), Stradbroke Island (QLD), Rottnest Island (WA), Cape Tribulation & Heron Island amongst many more locations. Apparently, I like Islands...


breach.jpg
A humpback breaching on one of my trips out of Victoria, BC


This experience that lasted a good 7 years of living out of suitcase and relocating to different city/Island and different work every 6-9 months sparked a desire to keep it going. I had recently finished my undergrad in Marine Biology and had been working on the Great Barrier Reef for a few years out of Port Douglas & Cairns when I decided to take skills and desire to start exploring other parts of the world.

First stop - Canada - Victoria on Vancouver Island in British Columbia! I instantly fell in love with this beautiful location and made some close friends very quickly and have been living on and off in this town for the past 10 years now. Primarily, my work has been operating a whale watching company focusing on Orca & Humpback interactions, as well as, working as a dive master for a mate's dive company. This working environment allowed me time and practise to refine my skills, as a guide on interacting with large marine mammals in their world.


IMG_3730.jpg
One of the vessels in the company I worked for cruising on a tour with Mount Baker in the background.


This led to work as a guide in Norway - leading an Orca expedition, where I was fortunate enough to work with a French biologist called, Pierre whom is considered to be "Lord of the Orca". He has been swimming with wild orca in their natural world for the past two decades. I learnt a lot from talking with this man and working with him on an expedition. From that I am proud to be a member of his group known as USEA, as a patroller - I aim to help educate people in techniques to safely and responsibly interact with marine mammals on the water, as well as, in the water. https://www.useadiving.com


IMG_0367.jpg
A marine mammal hunting orca (Bigg's Orca) cruising around my vessel in a curious manner.


From this work and working along some colleagues, whom have become close friends, recommended me to an international expedition company. This was flattering beyond belief and about a week later I was on the phone with the head hiring guy and had a 2 contracts to work in Antarctica as a Marine Biologist and zodiac guide. Hence my previous posts on some of my Antarctic experiences.


Life in Antarctica for 3 months as a Marine Bio/guide: https://steemit.com/life/@thomasjmitchell/life-in-antarctica-for-3-months-as-a-marine-bio-guide
Last day of 2017 in Orne Harbour, Antarctica: https://steemit.com/blog/@thomasjmitchell/last-day-of-2017-at-orne-harbour-antarctica
The life of a Southern Elephant Seal molting at Elephant Point, Antarctica: https://steemit.com/life/@thomasjmitchell/the-life-of-a-southern-elephant-seals-molting-at-elephant-point-antarctica
Leopard seal yawning on a ice floe: https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@thomasjmitchell/leopard-seal-yawning-on-a-ice-floe
animal encounters in Antarctica: https://steemit.com/adventure/@thomasjmitchell/elos7qkg


Even though I haven't lived in Australia for probably over 10 years now I do visit quite regularly to see my family and my younger brother's growing family. However, I do not see myself based out of Australia for perhaps many years, as there is still too much to experience before I stop - that is if I ever stop.

What's next?!? Well, immediate is getting on a plane to see my family in Australia then heading back to Ushuaia to work on another ship for a few weeks until the end of the summer season in Antarctica. After that..?? No idea - hopefully, more expedition work in the Arctic to encounter more different species of marine mammals in a different environment. Either way, I am excited, nervous and at times scared of what is going to happen and I honestly wouldn't have it any other way.

Thanks for reading & your support, Steemians!

Follow me and I will be posting Part 2 of life as an international expedition guide.

For more photos and stories of some of my world adventures check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now