Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #44- Thai BBQ Chicken Sandwich

IMG_8724.jpg

Growing up in Bangkok there were so many different types of street food meals which I enjoyed eating after school. One that is my personal favorite is bbq chicken with a side of sticky rice, chili sauce and green papaya salad. On Fridays, my sister and I would quickly run across the street to buy some food and I remembered it was always difficult trying to eat the salad, chicken and rice without spilling any sauce on myself while quickly walking back to our pick up spot. For this week's theme I thought I would try to make a sandwich version of my childhood snack.

IMG_8711.jpg

Ingredients

  • BBQ chicken thighs (fish sauce, oyster sauce, black pepper, and garlic)
  • green papaya salad (fish sauce, chili, palm sugar, lime juice, garlic, and peanuts)
  • fried green papaya salad (tapioca starch and salt)
  • sticky rice
  • sweet chili sauce (chilis, vinegar, sugar, and salt)

Traditionally, the chicken is marinated overnight and slowly grilled over charcoal but I cheated and used a grill pan since I'm not great at grilling.

IMG_8709.jpg

Green papaya salad is a classic side dish served along with bbq chicken. The salad is tart and spicy and the fish sauce adds an umami flavor. On one of my recent trips to Bangkok, I discovered deep fried papaya salad. I decided to batter some papaya and deep fried them to add along with the regular papaya salad for a contrast in textures.

IMG_8708.jpg

In place of a bun, I used sticky rice. After steaming the rice, I pressed it into ring molds, forming patties. For the sauce I made the sweet chili sauce. That is the classic sauce served with most deep fried foods in Thailand and it is also perfect for the chicken. Now let's put the sandwich together.

IMB_eV5y0f.GIF

This is one bold tasting sandwich. It's salty, sweet, spicy and sour all in one bite. For all sandwich loving Steemians, check out the contest by @jaybird. I can't wait to see future sandwich creations.

IMG_8720.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center