Donate a dollar

It's my hope that Steemit can do lots of good work for charities. There are a few small ones on here and we can support them with votes or donations. A cool initiative is run by @pennsif. It's called #ADollarADay. You send him some funds and he distributes them to a selection of causes. I trust him to do the checking that they are for real. You can see from his post that hundreds of dollars have been passed on.

This is me sending some SBD to @pennsif.
To pennsif

This is one of his donations to a charity.
Donation

We don't have to trust that he's passing it on as we can see for ourselves in his wallet. @bigdude is an operation in Venezuela who supply shoes for poor kids.

You can give any amount you like and can afford. You are likely to get a mention if you participate.

I'm going to try and be more regular in my donations. It will depend on how it goes with my posts each week, but I'll try to do something each weekend. For now I'm doing okay. I can pass some one, power some up and keep a little in reserve to spend.

Now I have my Wirex debit card I can convert Steem to Litecoin on the card and then to ££s I can spend. They have a referral scheme and do a cashback scheme for some payments. I just topped up the card from my Eobot cloud mining as that was building up. They have thresholds for withdrawals, but I had enough to get some Litecoin out.

I thought I'd mention something about my own voting policies on Steemit. I support a very few people with automatic votes via Steem Voter. Otherwise it's all manual. I go through my feed and vote up posts I like. That's generally 10-30%, but I'm going to try to give out at least one 100% vote each day for special posts. I monitor my voting power via Steem Now and try to keep it around 80% so that it can recharge each day. If I've very active it can dip below that. I support a few people whose posts get re-steemed via the #RunningProject with small votes. I also vote on any good comments on my posts. If I suspect the comment is not genuine then it's likely to get nothing or may incur a small flag.

I don't respond well to people begging for votes. They have to be earned.

For a long time I was not self-voting at all, but I've decided I'm worth one or two each week. That may be for my Open Mic posts. It's only about a dollar each time, so I'm not exactly being greedy. I don't buy votes and you may notice I'm using the #NoBidBots tag lately to indicate that. The trending and hot pages for that tag may be worth a look, although I see I do feature a fair bit there :)

On Steemit we each have the freedom to set our own rules. Of course you can just take from the system, but be prepared to be judged as the evidence is all public. I have my own principles, but I don't set hard rules about what I'm going to do. Of course I'm happy to earn something, but I also want to do what I can to make this platform a success so that many more can benefit from it.

Let's make Steemit great, for everyone!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get a Wirex Debit Card to spend your crypto.

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now