Steemit-Ironchef Round 9 ~ Pea-Omelette with purple Truffle Potatoes and Romanesco Salad 💚💚💚

Peas! This time I had to go to the frozen food section of my supermarket. As far as I remember I always bought frozen peas when I needed them - no matter what time of the year. They still feel like fresh peas and are so convenient to use. Everytime I need some green color in any kind of food I grab the paper container with the frozen peas and throw some of them into the pot.

The peas my mom used to grow in the garden never made it into the house. We ate them right from the vegetable patch as soon as they were big enough to eat them and soon enough before they started to get hard and mealy and bitter. She is still doing it that way and we kids and the grandkids too when we are lucky enough to be there on the right time of the year. A wonderful memory.

I was pretty sure what to cook with peas very soon this time. I made my dish for our Sunday dinner. 

That's what ingredients I used:

Frozen peas, silken tofu, chickpea floor, aquafaba (beanwater, from canned chickpeas this time), kala namak, a Romanesco, red radishes, truffle potatoes, salt and pepper and walnut oil, sunflower oil, mustard, orange juice, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar and salt and pepper for the salad dressing.

Preparations:

First thing to do was to bring the fast cooker with the potatoes to boil.

I blanched the Romanesco roses for some very few minutes so they would be still nice and crispy.

I prepared the dressing in a bowl and mixed it with the still hot and steamy vegetable. I cut some red radishes in quarters and added them to the Romanesco.

For the omelettes I puréed some defrosted peas with the silken tofu, the chickpea floor, some salt and for the "eggy taste" with the black indian salt Kala Namak.

To make the mixture a little bit more foamy I beat some aquafaba until stiff and carefully folded it under. 

I heated a non-stick coated pan and a little bit of vegetable oil and put a little bit of the dough in the middle.

I springled some still frozen peas on it, covered the pan and allowed the omelette to cook over a low heat for about six minutes until firm. 

I served the omelette with the vegetable salad and some quarters of the beautiful colored potatoes and some seasalt to taste. 

This entry is my this weeks contribution to the #steemit-ironchef challenge hosted by @progressivechef. These are are the rules of the contest: STEEMIT IRON CHEF 2018 Act 01 Round 09 : Contest now OPEN!!!

Thank you for reading my recipe and watching my post! Feel free to add your thoughts and suggestions! I'd like to know if someone else ever did something similar and how she or he made the omelette stick together better. (It was very difficult to move it from the pan to the plate without damaging it. I failed with last two. 😜)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now