Lapis Lazuli for a Peaceful Mind, Heightened Sense of Awareness, and to Contact Your Spirit Guides

It’s mind blowing when we pay attention to the synchronicities that go on around us. Years ago when I was learning about the healing powers of gems and minerals I came across lapis lazuli, and I immediately knew I needed to get a piece of it. I mentioned this to my husband, who also studies gems and minerals, and he said to me, “You know, I think there’s a piece out in the garage in one of the boxes of stuff that we inherited from Annie.” He went out, found the box, scavenged through it and returned with the perfect piece of lapis lazuli, that we can simply call lapis, which is the one pictured below. The boxes of stuff had been cluttering our garage for years. I could have never imagined that a piece of lapis would be in one of the boxes, and even more fascinating is that my husband remembered seeing it and knew which box it was in. Instant manifestation!

The fact that this piece of lapis came from Annie made it special beyond words. Annie, a dear old friend, who departed from this world many years prior, was sending me yet another gift from the other side. Annie was truly one-of-a-kind. The cliche’, “They broke the mold when they made her,” couldn’t hold more true. That I knew her, has been one of the miracles in my life. Annie’s father was killed in WWI and her mother, not able to raise her alone, put her in an orphanage in France where they lived. Annie was adopted as a baby, grew up in France, was well-educated in law, moved to America, worked as a lawyer for a large American book- publishing company, and married an actor-who unfortunately died in his mid 50’s. Annie’s almost fiction-like life story could take up volumes, but I will stop there so that I can focus on this post’s topic.

I wanted lapis mainly because I was having trouble quieting my mind during meditation, and one of Lapis’ characteristics is that it helps to quiet a busy mind. In addition to that it is also used to contact your spirit guides and that, too, was something I desired. Even though I knew my spirit guides were and had always been with me, I felt that I never showed proper gratitude or expressed my full trust in their guidance. Utilizing lapis was one tangible way to let my guides know that I believed in and was grateful for them.

After receiving the lapis, I immediately washed it and then set it out in the sun to recharge. It’s important to always wash your gems and minerals upon receiving them in order to clear them of left-over energy from previous owners or others who have had a hand in getting the desired stone to you. Gems and minerals absorb energy and need to be washed and then recharged in the sun or moonlight in order to remain effective. Kyanite is the only one that I know of that does not absorb energy and does not need to be cleansed or recharged.

After the lapis was ready and I was ready to meditate, I held it in my hand as I meditated with the intention that it would keep my mind quiet. I also called forth my spirit guides asking for protection and guidance and to please show me how I can be of service. To this day, I always call forth my spirit guides during my meditation. I no longer need to hold the lapis during meditation, however, because over a couple week’s time my mind quieted down, enabling me to have peaceful meditations. It helped me to achieve the quiet mind I was looking for. It now rests on my nightstand helping me to have sound sleep.

As always, I set my intention, which was to have my mind be still and quiet during meditation so that the answers I was seeking could come through. Next, already knowing that gems, rocks and minerals contain healing powers, I researched which one could help me with my specific problem, and that is how I discovered lapis. Finally, I put into practice what I learned, and within a short period of time I was able to attain a quiet mind during meditation.

As with almost every gem/stone/mineral/rock, lapis-officially a rock- has many uses. So, in addition to helping quiet your mind and make contact with your spirit guides, it, being blue, also relates to your throat chakra, thus helping with effective communication and self expression. Some people find it useful in conquering sinus infections and problems with speech. Setting it near your bed can help you achieve better sleep. Some people incorporate its powers in healing their thyroid. Finally, just to name one more use out of many more, it helps to protect from both physical and psychic attacks, so keep it on you when you go out.

If you look at my picture, you will see that my piece of lapis has off-white speckles throughout. This is calcite deposits, and lowers the monetary value of this rock. However, monetary value is not a concern for me because I was looking for the stone’s healing powers. Plus, the lapis came from a dear friend, which imparts even more meaning into it. That means, the stone has mega healing powers for me.

Deep blue lapis with a hint of purple and no off-white deposits is prized, especially for use in jewelry. The finest lapis comes from Afghanistan. It is also found in the US and Canada, just to name a couple other places where you can hunt for lapis.

If you’re wanting to quiet your mind, make contact with your spirit guides, have better sleep or have better communication, then I recommend getting a piece of lapis lazuli. It’s easy to find at gem and mineral shows, metaphysical stores or online on Ebay, for example. Remember to clean and recharge your lapis when you receive it, set your intention, and then practice using it. You may find yourself happily surprised by the results.

Thank you so much for reading! As always, my writing is my own based on my research throughout the years and what I personally experience. My picture was taken in my home of a piece of lapis lazuli that I was gifted.
lapis lazuli.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center