Bridge the gap

Hello, beautiful people! Welcome to my blog. It's a pleasure to have you in this space. Once again, welcome 🤗

It's easy for us to get angry and hurt at our friends or loved ones when they don't reach out, mostly during our tough moment and when we needed someone to talk to, then we interpret their silence as neglect. We tend to forget that they might also be going through something worse than what we are going through.

Everyone is fighting a demon we know nothing about, and their not communicating might not be entirely about us.

A few days ago I called one of my friends Emmy on the phone, and as we were talking, he asked me when was the last time I heard from another friend of ours, Raf.

It's been over four months. I replied. The last time I called him, he answered and said he was going to call me back, but he didn't. This is not the first time he is doing that, nor is it the second time; he does it often. I am already getting tired of his behavior and am planning on deleting his number. I can't keep up with this sh*t. Communication is a two-way thing since he isn't interested in talking; there's no need to keep his number on my phone or call him. I kept complaining bitterly.


Photo by Andres Ayrton from Pexels

Try and reach out to him. I think he has been going in and out of depression. I have a lot going on with me at the moment, and I don't think I am in the right frame of mind to. Please don't give up on Raf, said Emmy.

Okay, I will reach out to him. I said

I reached out to Raf, and as usual, he said he was going to get back to me, but I insisted that we must talk this time around. When we got talking, I found out that for the past two years both he and his family have been going through difficult challenges, ranging from health challenges to debt to a lack of finances.

He had been depressed, and this led him to isolate himself from all his friends.

Even if people don't reach out to us, we should find a way to break the silence. A simple hello and how are you doing can go a long way. Always remember that reaching out can be a lifeline.

For everyone going through any kind of difficult situation, hold on; this too shall pass. You are way stronger than you think.

THANK YOU FOR READING TO THE END 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now