Author of this content has low reputation.

LeoGlossary: Guns N' Roses - Paradise City (Song)

How to get a Hive Account


"Paradise City" is an iconic rock anthem by Guns N' Roses, featured on their debut album, Appetite for Destruction (1987). Released as a single in January 1989, it quickly became a global hit, topping charts in multiple countries and cementing the band's status as one of the most popular rock acts of the era.

Musical Composition:

  • Catchy melody: The song has a simple but infectious melody that has been stuck in the heads of listeners for decades.

  • Powerful vocals: Axl Rose's vocals are full of energy and emotion, and he delivers the lyrics with passion and conviction.

  • Iconic guitar solo: Slash's guitar solo is one of the most recognizable and memorable in rock history. It is a soaring and melodic solo that takes the song to new heights.

  • Use of synthesizers: The song is one of the few on Appetite for Destruction to feature synthesizers, which give it a unique sound.

  • Duff McKagan's basslines: Duff McKagan's basslines are simple but effective. They provide a solid foundation for the song's rhythm section and help to create its driving energy.

Lyrics:

  • Theme of escapism: The song is about escaping from a harsh reality and finding a place of peace and happiness. This theme resonates with many listeners, as it speaks to the desire to escape from the challenges and pressures of life.

Cultural Impact:

  • Popularity: The song was a commercial success, reaching number seven on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. It also became a staple of Guns N' Roses live shows, and is often performed as the final encore song.

  • Legacy: It is a timeless classic that has become synonymous with Guns N' Roses. The song has been covered by numerous artists, and it has been featured in many films and television shows. It is a reminder of Guns N' Roses' raw energy and their ability to write songs that connect with people on a deep level.

Interesting facts:

  • The song was partially inspired by a trip that the band took to Los Angeles, where they were exposed to the city's fast-paced lifestyle and materialistic culture.

  • The song's music video] was directed by Marty Callner and features a montage of scenes from the band's early days, as well as footage of Los Angeles landmarks.

  • "Paradise City" has been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.

"Paradise City" is a timeless classic that has stood the test of time. It is a song that will continue to be enjoyed by fans of rock music for generations to come.

Lyrics

Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty (take me home)
Oh, won't you please take me home?
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty (take me home)
Oh, won't you please take me home?

Just an urchin living under the street, I'm a
Hard case that's tough to beat
I'm your charity case so buy me somethin' to eat
I'll pay you at another time
Take it to the end of the line

Rags and riches, or so they say, you gotta
Keep pushing for the fortune and fame
You know it's, it's all a gamble when it's just a game
You treat it like a capital crime
Everybody's doing their time

Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh, won't you please take me home? Yeah-yeah
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Take me home

Strapped in the chair of the city's gas chamber
Why I'm here, I can't quite remember
The surgeon general says it's hazardous to breathe
I'd have another cigarette but I can't see
Tell me, who you're gonna believe?

Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Take me home, yeah-yeah
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh, won't you please take me home?
Yeah

So far away
So far away
So far away
So far away

Captain America's been torn apart, now
He's a court jester with a broken heart
He said, "Turn me around and take me back to the start"
I must be losin' my mind, "Are you blind?"
"I've seen it all a million times"

Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Take me home, yeah-yeah
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh, won't you please take me home?

Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Take me home, yeah-yeah
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh, won't you please take me home?
Home

I wanna go, I wanna know
Oh, won't you please take me home?
I wanna see, how good it can be
Oh, won't you please take me home?

Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Take me home (oh, won't you please take me home?)
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh, won't you please take me home?

Take me down (oh yeah), spin me 'round
Oh, won't you please take me home?
I wanna see, how good it can be
Oh, won't you please take me home?

I wanna see, how good it can be
Oh, oh, take me home
Take me down to the Paradise City
Where the grass is green and the girls are pretty
Oh, won't you please take me home? (I want you, I want you take me home)
I wanna go, I wanna know
Oh, won't you please take me home?
Baby, yeah

General:

Page by @elianaicgomes

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center