My Back to Sushi Experience |EN/ES|

1668478914163-01.jpeg


It's been 84 years... I mean, it's been a couple years since I tasted sushi. I missed it so much, and I didn't know how much until I had a sweet raw piece of salmon and tuna inside my mouth almost melting while feeling the pleasure of sea food like this again. The pandemic and quaranties kept me from eating outside most of the time. THis is the third year, we are all vaccinated, and I want to go out again and enjoy places, AND food. So, a coleague of mine proposed a birthday lunch and I said yes. This is my going back to sushi experience.

Bonsai Sushi is a restaurant with Japanese-Peruvian tendencies. You can say they serve Nikkei food (Japanese descendants cuisine). I know this restaurant well, and I have frequented it for almost a decade. It was one of the first sushi places in my city that to my surprise is still running! So, I had to go back after this long sushi pause in my life to taste the dishes I know so well.

Han pasado 84 años... Quiero decir, han pasado un par de años desde que probé sushi. Lo extrañaba tanto, y no sabía cuánto hasta que tuve un dulce trozo crudo de salmón y atún dentro de mi boca casi derritiéndose mientras volvía a sentir el placer de los mariscos como este. La pandemia y las cuarentenas me impidieron comer afuera la mayor parte del tiempo. Este es el tercer año, todos estamos vacunados, y quiero volver a salir y disfrutar de lugares Y comida. Entonces, un colega mío me propuso un almuerzo de cumpleaños y dije que sí. Esta es mi experiencia de regreso al sushi.

Bonsai Sushi es un restaurante con tendencias japonesas-peruanas. Se puede decir que sirven comida Nikkei (cocina de descendencia japonesa). Conozco bien este restaurante y lo he frecuentado durante casi una década. ¡Fue uno de los primeros lugares de sushi en mi ciudad que para mi sorpresa todavía funciona! Así que tuve que volver después de esta larga pausa en el sushi en mi vida para probar los platos que tan bien conozco.

1668478648233-01.jpeg

1668478676130-01.jpeg

The restaurant is kind of darky, so my colleague and I sat near the entrance. I am going to apologize ahead of my photos because the light and focus were real problems in this setting. The waiter offered us to order and to pick an entrée. I chose an apricot juice and a Shrimp party which is long shrimps breaded together accompanied by two regular sauces. I love shrimp! these were really good although a little bit small and low in salt in our opinion.

El restaurante es un poco oscuro, así que mi colega y yo nos sentamos cerca de la entrada. Me voy a disculpar antes de mis fotos porque la luz y el enfoque fueron verdaderos problemas en esta configuración. El camarero nos ofreció ordenar y elegir un plato principal. Elegí un jugo de albaricoque y una fiesta de camarones que son camarones largos empanizados juntos acompañados de dos salsas regulares. ¡Me encantan los camarones! estos eran realmente buenos aunque un poco pequeños y bajos en sal en nuestra opinión.

1668478758304-01.jpeg

1668478845932-01.jpeg

This baby right here was my main course. Oh, the restaurant-level sushi is just so appealing. Do you see how shiny the salmon is? This sushi plate is a combination of three types of rolls and it goes by the name of raw mixed rolls. yes, just that simple name. It also has a tempura version, but this time I wanted to feel the fresh salmon of my Alaska special roll, the sweet tuna in my temaki, and have fun with the crab meat. Also, I wanted to accompany these rolls with tons of wasabi.

Este bebé de aquí fue mi plato principal. Oh, el sushi a nivel de restaurante es tan atractivo. ¿Ves lo brillante que está el salmón? Este plato de sushi es una combinación de tres tipos de rollos y se conoce con el nombre de rollos mixtos crudos. sí, solo ese simple nombre. También tiene una versión tempura, pero esta vez quise sentir el salmón fresco de mi rollo especial de Alaska, el dulce de atún en mi temaki, y divertirme con la carne de cangrejo. Además, quise acompañar estos rollos con toneladas de wasabi.

You see, I love wasabi. This green paste that comes from a plant root in Japan is spicy yet cold. I find interesting how those two sensations combine. Usually, spicy food is perceived hot and burning, but with wasabi I enjoy how while being cold it burns. So, I place generous amounts over my raw sushi rolls. Something important is that I put this roll in my mouth with the wasabi facing my palate. Why you ask? because another particularity of this paste is that it absorbs so fast in contact with your mucosa that it generates a burning reaction which reaches your nose all around. I love that sensation! and believe me, this wasabi paste was no fake. I had a truly wasabi freeze (like a ice cream brain freeze) eating my plate.

Verán, me encanta el wasabi. Esta pasta verde que proviene de la raíz de una planta en Japón es picante pero fría. Encuentro interesante cómo se combinan esas dos sensaciones. Normalmente, la comida picante se percibe caliente y quemante, pero con el wasabi disfruto como estando frío arde. Entonces, coloco cantidades generosas sobre mis rollos de sushi crudos. Algo importante es que me meto este rollo en la boca con el wasabi de cara al paladar. ¿Porque preguntas? porque otra particularidad de esta pasta es que se absorbe tan rápido en contacto con tus mucosas que genera una reacción de escozor que llega a toda la nariz. Me encanta esa sensacion! y créanme, esta pasta de wasabi no era falsa. Tuve una verdadera congelación de wasabi (como una congelación de cerebro de helado) comiendo mi plato.

1666998280117-01.jpeg

My colleague ordered a bonsai salad which brings wakame, salmon and tuna cubes, and avocado among other ingredients. The roll she chose is made with noodles instead of rice (she is on a diet). The envelop is translucid, so you can see the crab meat and noodles. It looked good (but mine was better ssh!).

Mi colega pidió una ensalada de bonsái que trae wakame, cubos de atún y salmón, y aguacate entre otros ingredientes. El rollo que eligió está hecho con fideos en lugar de arroz (está a dieta). El sobre es translúcido, por lo que se puede ver la carne de cangrejo y los fideos. Se veía bien (¡pero el mío era mejor ssh!).

1666997999832-01.jpeg

At some point, I took a temaki into my mouth, and I swear for a second I stopped hearing my surroundings because my body was completely focused on that long-missed flavor. It was glorious. I definitely need to eat sushi regularly again, and I am grateful this kind of place is still open for business. I hope to keep it going (sorry budget) you know where my HBD will end up now lol.

En algún momento, me metí un temaki en la boca y juro que por un segundo dejé de escuchar mi entorno porque mi cuerpo estaba completamente concentrado en ese sabor que tanto añoraba. fue glorioso Definitivamente necesito volver a comer sushi regularmente, y estoy agradecido de que este tipo de lugar todavía esté abierto para los negocios. Espero que siga funcionando (lo siento, presupuesto) ya sabes dónde terminará mi HBD ahora jajaja.



@gaeljosser
Redmi note 7 camera
Edition with Snapseed

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments