Market Friday at one the local garden centres on Cape Cod

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle so I hope you'll join in one Friday and share with all of us. We're off to Scenic Roots in Sandwich Massachusetts on Cape Cod, come along.

1aprilHive2.jpg
The garden centre was a sea of pansies and little else for outdoor plants
but it was early Spring. This trip was last week and I'm set to go again today, so I have a feeling it will be more full.

1aprilHive4.jpg
I thought of using this photo as an April Fool's post about 'invisible flowers' but then thought better of it. I could have snapped many 'empty plant rack' shots to give it a go however haha.

It's funny to see this now as in 2 weeks it will be about half full and then my May day it'll be swamped with flowers/trees and people, all happily anxious to improve their gardens.

1aprilHive1.jpg
Being a bit of a gardener myself, Spring is one of my favorite times
That anxious happy feeling about the end of February when I've given in and have started seeds indoors. I'll have been watering and making cuttings of petunias since December (haha it's hard to stop gardening) so when that first day you know the pansies will be at the shops, you can't wait to get out.

1aprilHive11.jpg
Though it was a grey rainy day how could you not smile seeing all that color after the whites and greys of Winter?

1aprilHive5.jpg
I couldn't believe they had a few pansies already, being such High Summer annuals
but of course they brought them in at the end of the day. Proven Winners happens to be my favorite grower of many things, but they cannot be outodne with pansies. They have breed them to be so full and not needing deadheading and I keep a pink variety I love in the house through the winter, the "mother plant" from which I take cuttings all Winter to make more and more of these wonderful flowers. Sometimes they sell out quite quickly in the high season.

I nabbed a purple one, I didn't have, and I've already made a couple cuttings.

1aprilHive3.jpg
Though it was a bit grey and drab outside
There was more light indoors to look at the darling bit of thrifted finds they carry, thanks to a local vendor who sets up a couple little corners.

1aprilHive7.jpg
The twee joy of porcelain fawns and cow shaped creamers with a view to houseplants and pansies beyond, makes for a joyful Spring.

1aprilHive6.jpg
The prices are quite good
and this day they had some darling milk glass pieces. These always make me think of Easter as I recall my mother setting tables and sideboards with all her milk glass and jadeite (most of which I now have) and how they'd look a treat filled with tulips and violets and little pastel coated sweets and candy coated almonds and paper grass dyed in pinks and greens and violets. The nostalgia of milk glass and Easter runs pretty high with me

1aprilHive8.jpg
Wonderful displays of houseplants and gifts for such a small shop
Tho Scenic Roots is hardly the largest garden centre on the Cape (we've 2 rather big ones) they do a good job of using their limited indoor space. They also now, happily, carry all the products or our local Farm "Crow Farm" which sadly no longer runs it's darling little stand, by the farm, where it sold it's cape grown fruit and veg and plants and local honey. however now they sell these wares here at Scenic roots.

1aprilHive10.jpg
I'm always in my wellies, so these terra cotta pair were very tempting
though they were a bit out of my price range, but you never know, a coupon might come my way (we get points for buying plants here and heaven knows by the end of the summer my "plant points" are overflowing) so maybe I'll manage one for an Autumn planting.

In fact, I usaully change out of my wellies when heading out, but on this day I realized, when looking at these, that I was still in mine and they had a bit of chicken much on them...ah well, when one lives in the country a bit of much and dirt is always overlooked by shopkeepers.

1aprilHive9.jpg
This sweet little artists model doll can wave goodbye for this trip
and looking at the Windsor doll's chair and that model again in my photos, I might be hard pressed not to go back for them. They'd look a treat in my studio...it's hard to have restraint in such cute shops as we are lucky with here on Cape Cod.

I hope you enjoyed today's #MarketFriday and won't you please join in. To find out the 'rules' and all that go to @dswigle post today and have a good read and think about joining us next Friday, or even today.

Now, do I stop by and see if they still have the little chair and aritst's model when I'm out today, hmmmm decisions on a #MarketFriday.

I hope you find a moment in your day to indulge in your passions or to just get out and buy a pansy or two.

QuailBorderforHive.jpg


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center