Bunnies at Market on Friday


Easter. The word "Easter" is derived from Eastra, the name of the ancient German Goddess of Spring. The festival to celebrate was the vernal equinox, which is on the first Sunday following the first full moon. Such a movable feast this is! We knew it was going to happen. Easter? #MarketFriday? A match made in heaven, yes? We should dive right in before it gets crowded. After you!


IMG_4158.JPG


I came here on the promise of an item I was looking for. This is a vintage postcard I bought years ago. I framed it and got a small easel for it, and put it out on a small table near my couch around Easter. After the first year, I liked it so much, I just left it - all year round. My sister loved that postcard so much, I wrapped it up one year and sent it to her. She loved it and still does. I had heard that they were in possession of some of these postcards and so, I came to check them out and got caught in the web of Easter! How delightful!


C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iP9xpxTDPyjLUv1jNeLTSnK6EcGD4ULRhABZj3Bio1h6BCCFMZzysUQYuxfRcFS2gbxCVksLBj4.png


The bunny house. I would recognize that anywhere. Its very being looks like spring has arrived, just waiting for its doors to open and welcome people in. To be sure, the flowers, the bunnies, and the cheerful place just give me a sense of peace. That has such a calming effect on me, not having to work for the effect, but, having it wash over me.


IMG_4546.JPG


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on Hive.


IMG_4156.JPG


I picked up a Paas Easter Egg coloring kit. Every year around this time of the year, the family starts talking about Easter Past. Things we have done, places we have gone to celebrate the Holiday. We have gone to the White House where I watched the Easter Egg roll. Enjoyed Ostersonntag in Germany and the wonderful confections they have there. The chocolate is creamier than that in the States. For a long time, we didn't spend Easter on the same continent two years in a row. But, it was always fun, and we always painted eggs. We packed them with us.


IMG_4168.JPG


There was something about that ritual that I loved, perhaps it brought me to my childhood, the memories of my own that I wanted to pass down to my own children. Are there any rituals or celebrations that you want to pass on to your own children or one of your young relatives?


IMG_4142.JPG


With those rituals came the other little parts of Easter that came and went, depending on the age of the children. When they were little, I would go to stores like this one here and delight the young and young at heart. I could get two small bunnies for the same price as one big one. Magic eggs, and then the empty eggs, just waiting for you to put something amazing in them! To be fair, my kids still thought it was amazing to get a quarter in their eggs. Little did I know I would have three coin collectors! I should have seen that one coming!


IMG_4553.JPG


I'm overwhelmed by the amount of Easter decorating ideas and things to do it with here. I have an Easter Tree, so people think I am over the top with decorating, but my tree is a a small piece of branch and I paint it. I was looking for a special ornament to put on it. I have some glass handblown ones from Europe that I love and have had for years and years. Do you have any special decorations for Easter? Or am I in this one by myself?


IMG_4159 2.JPG


This little duck reminds me of the year I got my kids ducks, they were mallards. We raised them until they were big enough to defend themselves and then let them loose on our pond. The end of the summer came and they migrated south, which made the kids sad... until Spring came and they and their new mates came with them. They came back every year... and we had families of ducks until we moved. I miss those days. this little duck was $12.99 which was more than the little mallard cost me - and way more satisfying!


IMG_4153.JPG


I could almost not photograph these little bunnies. They were made of real rabbit fur. Look away! They were tres expensive! White too. I don't want to know how or why. Some things are better not knowing.


IMG_4140.JPG


As always, there must be flowers to color my world. #alwaysaflower


daffodil 2.jpg


She wore her yellow sun bonnet,
She wore her greenest gown;
She turned to the south wind
And curtsied up and down.
She turned to the sunlight
And shook her yellow head,
And whispered to her neighbour:
‘Winter is dead.

A.A. Milne

Center Crest.png

Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


IMG_4166.JPG


And just like that, this post is done. I hope you had a good time and learned a little something new. As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit, and just remember, #MarketFriday loves you! Thank you for supporting the challenge! Have a most fabulous day! Thank you for hunting down the vintage postcard with me, or trying to. It was a but, hopefully I will find another place that has the kind I am looking for! Thank you! Cheers!!


It is almost Easter!! What a fabulous time of the year to take joy in all of your many meaningful blessings! No matter how big or small, I am thankful for it all.


IMG_4141.JPG


Easter, also called Resurrection Day and Pascha, is a Christian holiday celebrating Jesus Christ returning from the dead. Christians believe that it is the holiest day in the year. Some people who are not Christians celebrate it as a cultural holiday. Easter is not held on the same date every year. This is called a moveable feast. Currently all Christian churches agree on how the date is calculated. Easter is celebrated on the first Sunday following the first full moon which is on or after March 21st. This means it is celebrated in March or April. It can occur as early as March 22 and as late as April 11. Western churches, like the Roman Catholic Church, use the Gregorian calendar, while Eastern churches, like the Eastern Orthodox Church, use the Julian calendar. Because of this, the date of Easter celebrations is different for these two types of churches even though the way they calculate the date is similar. In 2015 Easter was celebrated on April 5 for both the Gregorian calendar and Julian calendar. In 2019 Easter was celebrated on the 21st of April. source


W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFNKkiqbuqY2w8xt5o9p.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:


Rules of the Road to Join #MarketFriday!


  1. Go to the market, or anywhere that you pay money for a service.
    Take pictures! Be creative!
  2. Tell us a little bit about the market or the event. What brought you there? What did you buy? How much did it cost? Was it expensive? Did it go up or down? I need something other than 50 pictures of the market.
  3. Post the pictures. Of course, you should tell a little bit about the ones you post, it is too difficult to guess on some
  4. Use the MarketFriday Community Platform to post (#hive-196308) This is not required but appreciated.
    PLEASE Drop the link into the MarketFriday comment section so I can find it!!
  5. Following me and reblogging the post would be appreciated, but not a rule, more vision for more views on the #MarketFriday posts!
  6. You must put #MarketFriday by @dswigle somewhere on your post.
As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2  Copy.jpg


image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center