My Journey to Get a Tattoo from Apo Whang-Od in Buscalan Tattoo Village

The Legendary Apo Whang-Od and I

After hiking the Mt.Pulag, I went straight to the Buscalan Tattoo Village to personally meet Apo Whang-Od and get a tattoo from her. In this blog, I will share with you my epic journey to Buscalan Tattoo Village and my experience of getting a traditional tattoo.

Apo Whang-Od

image.png
Source: Vogue Magazine

Apo Whang-Od, a Filipino tattoo artist, gained fame for her traditional hand-tap tattoos, using techniques passed down through generations in the Butbut tribe. Her renown grew through media coverage and tourists seeking her unique art, making her a cultural icon and preserving indigenous tattooing practices.

She was recently featured in Vogue Magazine as part of celebrating her 106th birthday, making her popularity grow internationally.

My Journey to Buscalan Tattoo Village

1000024696.jpg

1000024687.jpg

I wasn't that exhausted from climbing Mt.Pulag no? It is the same day I went down Mt.Pulag and I was still full of energy to go farther from Manila.

Buscalan Tatto Village is a 10-hour-long drive from Manila. Crossing multiple cities and provinces as well as the Mountain Province in Luzon.

On this trip, I joined an organized group tour. Most of the joiners came from Manila while I was picked up at Baguio City. From Baguio City, we still have to travel for another 5 hours during the midnight. Good for me because I want to have a rest.

Buscalan Tattoo Village

1000025441.jpg

1000017189.jpg

Buscalan Tattoo Village is a remote village nestled atop a hill, surrounded by a river, requiring tourists to reach it via a 30-minute hike.

The locals built a zip line with an ingenious carriage to transport their vegetable products, bring in goods from the outside, and carry the baggage of tourists.

IMG_20240210_064131.jpg

But, you'll be surprised if I told you that I ride it myself 🤣 Check out the video below, and see what it looks like. This video went viral on my Instagram account gaining 1.5 million views 😆

https://youtube.com/shorts/kWP4Bmcfizs?si=1JNEGGJiwNA8xDB1

No, I didn't break any village rules. They allowed me to ride it, and I wasn't the only one that day. In fact, the locals use it daily. However, as a disclaimer, I still wouldn't encourage you to try it.

image.png

I stayed in Apo Whang-Od's transient house where I met one of her descendants, Xyza. She's an artist by blood, responsible for drawing the design outlines for her colleagues.

On that day, I didn't get a chance to meet Apo Whang-Od as she was busy tattooing many tourists. So, I had to wait until the next day.

Out of boredom and with only two days and a night in the Tattoo Village, I asked Xyza to create a tattoo for me—an anklet line with a Baybayin script and her name.

Meeting Apo Whang-Od and her 3 Dots

1000025405.jpg

1000024706.jpg

I woke up at 4 AM, not only to meet Apo Whang-Od but also to witness the beauty of her place. I've had a walk along the rice terraces and talked to some locals. For me, it is the best way to learn about the place and its culture.

I enjoyed the unlimited Buscalan coffee.

image.png

1000025408.jpg

Shortly after breakfast, my group and I were finally invited to Apo Whang-Od's place.

I got mine tattooed on my right wrist, not for any deep reason, but so I can always see it, especially when I am typing with a keyboard. The experience of getting tattooed by a living traditional legend like Apo Whang-Od was inherently meaningful.

Her tattooing technique was strong, making the thorn pierce deeper into my skin. It was painful because the tattoo was placed on the side part of my wrist where the bone is closer. In the picture, you can clearly see the holes that the thorn left in my skin.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now