Best Sausage I've Ever Eaten from Truth BBQ in Brenham, TX

Hi, this is my first post on Steemit! I'm excited to learn more about the community. A little about me:

I'm a journalist and photographer based in Austin, TX, the barbecue capital of the world. I'm currently researching for a story on a young journeyman pitmaster, but it's a long tail story which will probably take a few months to complete, so I thought it might be fun to share a few delicious photos. All the photos were shot with a Canon 6D and a 50mm lens.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Truth BBQ is located in Brenham, TX, about halfway between Austin and Houston. For people living in either of those cities, it's worth the drive. Truth recently cracked the Top 10 of Texas Monthly's definitive list of the states' barbecue restaurants, which is an amazing feat for a restaurant that opened in 2015, especially one managed by two pitmasters under the age of 30 (who sleep in cots on-site in order to tend the meat overnight).

truth bbq dylan.JPG

For those unfamiliar with Texas barbecue, brisket is the main course. Truth's fatty brisket literally sent my eyes rolling back, but the standout was actually a jalapeno cheddar sausage. Czech immigrants brought sausage-making traditions to Texas, but this was juicier than even the most legendary sausage makers (Southside Market and Meyer's), with bubbling cheddar and jalapeno specks that added just the right amount of spice.
FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Should you decide to visit, know that they're only open Friday through Sunday, and I'd recommend arriving around 11am as their recent Texas Monthly accolades mean there's typically quite the long line. Enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center