The Assignment: Antarctica

Part 21 in my Journey to Antarctica. If you enjoy the stories and photos, please comment and let me know!

PDS_1910.jpg

Many of my fellow Steemians may be wondering what I was doing in Antarctica in the first place. Well, today, I'm here to tell you a bit about that.

PDS_4359.jpg

PDS_2702.jpg

Whereas most photographers go to Antarctica to take photos of the landscapes or wildlife, I was there for what would, off the bat, seem like a counter intuitive reason: I was taking photos of people. I was hired by a travel company to take photos of Asian faces for their marketing brochures in what is becoming a very fast growing Chinese market.

PDS_3021.jpg

PDS_5395.jpg

A focus on the Asian market is a fairly new approach for this company, and most marketing materials they had featured Caucasian faces having a blast in Antarctica, but that does not have as much of an appeal to the Chinese market, as it is less relatable to them.

PDS_1059.jpg

Enter me. This is pretty much a dream assignment and something that belongs on everyone's bucket list, so when given the opportunity, I jumped at the offer. As well as taking the images of people interacting with the environment for their marketing materials, I was also able to work on my own images and story, which I have shared with you via the previous 20 posts.

PDS_4538.jpg

There is one final post of Antarctica after this one, where I will share images that didn't make it into the main narrative, but after that, I'll be sharing images from another one of my adventures.

PDS_0566.jpg

PDS_5997.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now