OFW Chronicles | What do we actually look forward when going home to the Philippines? | exploring F•T•F in the CULINARY CAPITAL OF THE PHILIPPINES | PAMPANGA Food Travel

The ultimate anticipation of an OFW is the date when he/she can finally set foot again to the land of happy and beautiful people, the PHILIPPINES!!! Can I hear a loud YES for that??? 😉 ... We are always like in a race everyday trying fast forward everything, even though we know for a fact that time and days will never be shortened nor run fast. At some point, our anticipation for our vacation give us the motivation to work harder.

THE IRONY:
When in Abroad: We miss almost everything in the Philippines, especially the simplest things and foods. Surprisingly even the candies sold in the public market give us the greatest joy!

When in the Philippines: (After 2 weeks) We are very eager to go back abroad. WHY? Our pockets are like water dams, NOT MATTER HOW YOU SHUT THEM OFF, THEY KEEP ON FLOWING! Haha ... Part of us longs for the life we are used to in abroad.

What does F•T•F actually stands for? FTF as I coined it, are the top 3 things that we look forward when going back to the Philippines.

FAMILY • TRAVEL • FOOD : Check out your vacation photos, truth be told you can categorize them with those 3. 😉

image

FAMILY: they are the very reason why we are working abroad, so NO DOUBT that they the most important factor of our excitement during our vacation. To be reunited with them is like the winning the grandest price you can ever think of in the lottery!

TRAVEL: Philippines as I always say to my friends, is a place worthy to be travelled in every corner. It’s natural beauty gives us endless reasons to explore our native land. Many of us are even well travelled to other countries but not in the Philippines. I’m telling you loudly and boldly... YOU ARE MISSING HALF OF YOUR LIFE by not exploring your own piece of paradise, THE PEARL OF THE ORIENT!

FOODS: I always take pride in clamoring to everyone, even with other nationalities how keen are we (Pampangueños) when it comes to food. We have variety of dishes that are well known in the whole country, thus our place is popularly known as the Culinary Capital of the Philippines. Give yourself a day to spend in Pampanga and I can guarantee you leaving the province while wanting for more!

image

Today I will be sharing with you foods I have indulged myself with during my 10-day vacation in the Philippines. PREPARE TO DROOL! 😉 ... Prior my arrival, I have sent a list of foods I wanted my Auntie to prepare, so I can maximize my stay and to definitely satisfy my cravings. I haven’t tick off all those in the list but 90% success rate is not bad at all. Before heading home, I have left here in UAE the word D•I•E•T 😉😉😉 kaliwali (bahala na, I don’t care, never mind in Arabic) hahaha KALIWALI DIET!

.... and let’s begin!

Pampanga is well known also for the crabs that we culture and native ones. Most restaurants in Manila and nearby provinces are sourcing theirs from us.
image

Talangka - Crablets: highly seasonal... lucky me to have found this last December 2017 😉
image

If you’re an OFW, I know how it feels seeing this photo at this very moment haha
image

I started my vacation with Pork Sinigang by my Uncle Chef... that natural sourness of tamarind!
image

A typical Pinoy breakfast “Tuyo, Salted Egg and Tomatoes”
image

Freshly picked Coconut fruit and Pandan leaves from our backyard! 😉
image

Guyabano/Soursop ... 😍
image

This famous steak in Olongapo is now being served in Clark Pampanga “Meat Plus Restaurant”
image

Ginataang Kamansi by my Uncle Chef, ideally with dilis but I just love Pork so they have to adjust haha
image

Special Ramen by “Nagi Ramen in SM Pampang” ... pricey yet worth it!
image

Fresh Melon juice ... indeed a thirst quencher
image

A famous Pares in Pinas, but this delectable set can be bought only in NATHANIEL’s Pampanga (branches are now located in some areas in Manila)
image

Bakery goodies have never been this mouth watering! Spanish bread and cheese bread by LA Bakeshop, located in Intersection, Dolores San. Fernando, Pampanga
image

Another sweet Treat, this sansrival is definitely something, but I would still go for the famous sansrival of Edna’s in Nueva Ecija
image

“Paikwat” a thinly sliced pork specialty of my Auntie Chef
image

Best partnered with Paikwat or any fried specialty. It can stand alone as well.
image

Shrimp Afritada... just simply amazing! Give yoursef a treat with cups and cups and cups or even bowl of rice! This is really delish! So Tasty! Take note shrimps were peeled already. 😍
image

Aling Lucing’s is a legend we can consider in Pampanga, but I am a big fan of Mila’s crispy sisig in Angeles City, backside of Sacred Heart Medical Center. MUST TRY!
image

No explanation needed! “CHICHARONG BULAKLAK”
image

Betty’s rice cake... 😉
image

Traditional Sisig and Ihaw-Ihaw foodies! The ultimate street food experience!
image

A newly opened restaurant in Clark Pampanga... “THE HOUSE OF CHOPS” experience crispy pork with meat falling off its crispy skin! Will definitely visit this place again!
image

All time favorite Korean dessert! “ENCHO BAR” ... be sure to check out the chocolate treat inside.
image

By yours truly! Marinated Grilled Pork and Shrimp ... perfect with freshly cooked steamed rice!
image

Locally called ube halaya and tibok-tibok... mastered by another Auntie of mine 😍
image

Sherbet is a cold dessert made from coconut juice, lime zest, soda and sugar! A trademark dessert by another Auntie of mine 😍
image

Fresh lumpia made from coconut shoot! Locally known as Lumpiang Ubod! All were homemade from the wrapper to the filling and the most important of all, the dressing or lumpia sauce!
image

Mornings in Pinas especially in the Provinces will never be complete without Taho
image

This ice cream is being sourced in Orani Bataan, let me just say that this dessert is TO DIE FOR! It is made from gabi or Taro, blended with creamy mixture! A MUST TRY! I don’t mind travelling to Bataan everyday just to have this!
image

Special Puto Bumbong ... at the start of Advent season in the Philippines this delicacy is making its own way of popularity. This one that I had was bought in San Fernando City Pampanga, near SNR
image

Koreans has invaded us, not only with their good movies but also with their foods especially “Samgyupsal” ... for your ultimate Korean experience visit the Korean District near Clark Pampanga
image

Contis’ Mango Bravo ... Can be bought only in Manila, but recently became available on a per order basis in The Souk Restaurant San Fernando City
image

Choosing between Tiger Prawn and this one, locally known as Suahe... I wll never trade this shrimp with other types.
image

Mom’s specialty: fall in love with her Marinated Grilled Chicken BBQ and special BBQ sauce
image

Pork Adobo: a Pinoy classic... we have pork here in UAE but the quality of pork the Philippines is simply different!
image

This is how our typical afternoon looks like in Pampanga (corn, peanuts, grilled hotdog and fresh buko juice)
image
image
image
image

Sago’t Gulaman another sure win thrist quencher!
image

And of course, SA JOLLIBEE BIDA ANG SAYA! The last meal I had before going to the airport!
image

Thank God my BLOOD PRESSURE is normal! Hahaha ... I always tell my friends, don’t look for a top tourist spot in Pampanga, just visit me and I’ll promise to satisfy you with best foods you could have ever tasted!

This blog covers only 40% amongst my favorites and mostly home made! Vacation in the Philippines will never be complete without foooooooooods!

Watch out on my next blog for my top pick restaurants in Pampanga.

Thank you for dropping by! I’m a Proud KAPAMPANGAN! Luid ka Pampanga!


Have you voted your witness?

Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center