Finally - Back To The Peak District!

surprise_view_2_.jpg

Nothing beats getting out and about, something that I have neglected to do for far too long. But have finally forced myself out, which was very very worth it.

untitled_0074_enhanced.jpg

Today started of a little bit chilly, with a frost covering the ground as far as the eye could see, I thought, today will be a good day.

My girlfreind and I decided to go over to Castleton and walk on Mam Tor, but as we headed over that way, I said to her, why not do Surprise View instead, we wasn't too far from the carpark and decided to do this, as it's somewhere I had only visited once before and hadn't really explored this area of the peaks.

I can see why it's called "Surprise" view, as the views are epic, but even more so, we were surprised (excuse the pun) by the appearance of a Stag. I quickly got my camera out of my bag and took a few shots, what a beautiful creature this is.

surprise_view_1_.jpg

We continued our walk, and saw a load of rocks we wanted to get to, it looked like an island if you can imagine the place full of water, so we headed over there and clambered our way up on to them. Little did we know that there was an actual path from the carpark all the way up, although if we had taken that path, we wouln't have seen the stag.

surprise_view_6_.jpg

The views are breathtaking from up there, with views of Higgar Tor, Carl Wark, Burbage South Edge and Burbage South Valley, with the cool January air circulating in your lungs, what a great place to be.
The only down side was that I wanted to take the drone up, however, it was way too windy for drone flying, so just stuck to shooting with my Sony.

surprise_view_4_.jpg
The above picture is from Mill Stone Edge with a beautiful view through Hope Valley.

While we were enjoying the view, I took out my little Pocket Rocket 2 stove, and made a coffee, this was one of the best drinks in the best locations I've had, and managed to christen my new cup too lol.
img_6667.jpg

Heading back down we passed a massive rock called "Mother Cap", and I also think I found a dinosaur fossil, or at least a giant turtle fossil, what do you think it is?

untitled_3182.jpg

surprise_view_9_.jpg

We'd not walked too far when we got back to the car, but we were both hungry, so out came the stove and I cooked some Bacon, Sausage (heck chicken sausage) and beans, it doesn't look anything special, but it tasted sooo good.

img_6670.jpg

We then decided to go and have a little wander around Castleton, although almost everything was closed, we didn't stop too long, headed up Winnats Pass then home.

I really hope you like this post, it's been great getting out and about again.

Please check out my stuff on Instagram

Thanks again.

Darren.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center