Noob Meets Crypto - carpe diem, or is it caveat emptor?

Welcome to my new blog =)

Here, I will give you a blow-by-blow account of my first month in the crypto world as a noob/newbie. Tune in as I apply carpe diem/seize the day and caveat emptor/let the buyer beware in equal parts. Oh dear...

But I'm a serious noob, look - I made a logo. Ta-da!

black_and_white_modern_circle_photographer_initials_logo.png

I hope you find it not too painful, and at the very least a bit of a laugh - nothing wrong with a light bit of entertainment at someone else's expense, right?! Well, I'm a silver-linings kind of guy, so at least sharing this for other noobs to learn from, and for the rest to have a chuckle, makes my pain worth it.

Join me as I share:

  • the long road I took into cryptocurrency, after contemplating buying 50BTC when it was $10US (sigh), and then doing the same thing with ETH, and then to a lesser degree with Cardano (yet still not buying-in!);

  • my experience of buying my first coins, and the process I went through to select them - exciting! But wait there's more...;

  • social media groups I've joined, and how I was enticed on Day Two of my noob journey into buying a gaming token with potentially limited growth potential beyond the 500% growth it experienced in the first week, only to plummet to a third of what I paid ouch;

  • finding the trading function on Coinbase, only to discover that sometimes trades don't finalize when you want them to, for potential losses (double ouch!);

  • discovering DAOs, and buying into one, only to which its value fall like a stone...and the DAO communities and token fanboys and girls that swear their project is going "to the moon!";

  • setting up wallets, including extensions, and the different types of wallets I've encountered;

  • my dabblings with different exchanges, including the famed Pancake Swap;

  • and speaking of wallets, getting my non-proprietary wallet hacked into, and losing my tokens. OUCH! Discover which noob mistake I made (I bet you can guess);

  • trading as a noob in the week of Christmas, with wild and free abandon, only to watch the whole market start to bottom out, and of course trying not to freak out! It'll get better right? Let's hear what my advisors have to say about that;

  • which podcasts and Youtube channels I've found helpful and informative;

  • and then of course, there's the million-and-one questions I still have, and the oodles and oodles of info out there. Oh-so-much to learn...

Yes indeed folks, my less than one short month has been action-packed, and I expect 2022 to be a wild ride. So strap in to hear what happens when this noob/newbie meets crypto!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency