Announcing the Winner of the refurbished Sony Walkman and Lo-fi Mixtape!

For the last week I've been running a competition to guess the number of patch cables I have for my modular synth and entries have JUST closed so we have a winner!

But before I announce the winner... let's recap!

Here was the picture - the winner being the one who guessed the number of cables in it (or whoever got the closest!)

Competition.jpg

Are you ready for the answer now? Some people have waited a full 7 days! Ok here goes... Let us...

untitled.gif

The actual number of patch cables in the picture was...

178!

We had 17 entries in total and here they are in order of entry:

UserGuessComment
@sequentialvibe177THE WINNER - who'd have thought that the very first guess would be the closest!
@ciderjunkie122
@steevc163
@awah147
@stickupboys180Second closest guess!
@quinnertronics112
@lionsuit88The lowest guess!
@double-eagle89Closest guess excluding the cable hanger
@todayslight151
@trippymane169
@benthomaswwd / @aliveandthriving103
@edje117
@ambrosechappel2500Erm... maybe by next year?!
@ravenmus1c121
@cathgothard243
@driptorchpress120
@vincentnijman152

NB: I've double checked the above but if I did make any mistake anywhere - just give me a shout and I'll put things right!

Well it was very interesting seeing your answers and I think people were doing a combination of trying to count plus guessing.

And btw - it was actually quite hard counting them even in real life! I had to do it in sections and then re-count to make sure! So well done everyone!

I noticed quite a few people picked prime numbers and it turns out that the majority of people guessed too low with only 3 people guessing a number higher than the true number! If we take out the extreme outlier guess of @ambrosechappel then the average (mean) guess was 140.9.

So I did wonder if maybe a few people didn't include the patch cables on the cable hanger to the right. Though that was clearly included in the competition, I've decided to award a bonus prize to the person who came closest to the number EXCLUDING the cable hanger.

So the breakdown was actually:

  • 95 cables actually patched in the modular
  • 83 cables hanging on the cable hanger.

So a bonus prize of 5 HBD is on it's way to you now @double-eagle for your guess of 89!

Also an honorary mention to @stickupboys who were only 2 away from being spot on!

But the grand prize for being only 1 away from the exact number goes to @sequentialvibe! Please can you let me know where to send it? You can email me at hello@tdctunes.com, DM me on Instagram or Twitter or contact me via the PIZZA, Rising Star or Music for Life Discords!

Congratulations @sequentialvibe!

This is on it's way to you shortly:

Competition Prize 2.jpg

The Walkman is newly refurbished with a new belt and I've given it a test and it sounds great! (in a 1980s Walkman/Lo-fi kind of way!) I hope you enjoy your prize!

And finally if you didn't manage to catch my track "The Dreamer" yet which appears on Escapism Mixtape Vol. 2 you can listen on the major streaming services here:
https://ffm.to/thedreamer

The cassette tape is currently sold out but I'm hoping Oakhi Records will do another run soon! They live over at: https://www.oakhirecords.com/products/718838-escapism-mixtape-vol-2-cassette

Thanks to everyone who entered this competition. I hope it was a good bit of fun - I certainly had fun making it and seeing all the answers come in - great times!

Have a good day everyone and see you next time for another fun competition!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center