5 Reasons to Love Yoga

I have never been an incredibly active person. As I began aging and my metabolism began to slow down, I realized I would have to find some activity to keep me in shape. And I am so, so glad I found yoga. Not only are there incredible physical benefits, but my mind is sharper and I truly feel like a better version of myself inside and out, thanks to this amazing, ancient practice. If you haven’t tried yoga, let me share with you some amazing benefits of this discipline that might inspire you to get on a mat and give it a try.

Flexibility
I thought I would start with the obvious: yoga makes you incredibly flexible. Because you are developing muscles you weren’t even aware of and by lengthening and straightening your ligaments, yoga boosts your flexibility. Every day that I practice I find myself pleasantly surprised by the improvements in my range of motion and ability.

Strength
LIke flexibility, strength is an obvious benefit of a routine yoga practice. Even the most basic yoga postures promote a healthy and strong core, and repeating the ubiquitous down dog will quickly give strength to your wrists, arms, and legs.

Integrity and Accountability
Yoga benefits more than just the mind. I find that with a developed practice, I also have developed integrity and accountability. Unlike group activities, there is no team to let down if you miss a practice, only yourself. Yoga enables me to hold myself accountable for my fitness. I also find increased integrity with yoga; I channel the same integrity to push through whatever challenges life throws at me with the same grace and clarity I would use to power through a challenging yoga pose.

Relaxation
It is impossible not to experience a boost in relaxation and mood in general with a regular yoga practice. By giving yourself the time to check in with your body and breath, yoga helps you melt stress away. I have found an overall upswing in my mood when I am practicing yoga daily. I also find a sense of calm and peace that helps me look at problems with a fresh perspective.

Ease of Practice
If you have any qualms about trying yoga, this is my ultimate argument to get anyone to try the blessing of yoga: it is so easy to start. While you can sign up for yoga classes, you can buy the cute fashionable yoga pants, and you can shell out some cash for a yoga mat; you truly don’t need anything but your body and mind to get started with yoga. The internet offers myriad resources for developing an at home practice. On top of that, yoga is an individual journey that you can take at your own pace without the competition of a gym or sports.

So give yoga a try if you dare, you have nothing to lose, except maybe some weight, stress, and bad habits!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now