Meditation Journal; Getting started

I have always been interested in the concept of meditation and have attempted to meditate on occasion but never got into a routine. I wanted to help myself in sticking to a routine by journaling my thoughts and feelings.

IMG_0771.jpg

I have completed 3 sessions of 10 minutes so far. I used the application ‘Headspace’ as I already had this app downloaded but had yet to use it, I understand that it requires payment after the basic introduction so I might look for a free option after I complete the introduction (any recommendations?).

'Headspace' has a basic introduction to meditation which is 10 minutes each day for 10 days. I have been doing it at around 8pm, I found this time suited me well as I had got most of my activities out of the way and I was able to enter a more relaxed headspace by using meditation. The past week had actually been rather stressful, I found myself getting annoyed at situations at university/work that were actually quite minor, the past few sessions of meditation have helped me realise that it was a waste of energy to let minor things have such an effect on me. I have found I am able to fall asleep faster and into a deeper sleep after practicing meditation. Also, once I regulated my breathing it felt like a weight had been lifted off my chest.

I believe meditation is something that I would find very useful within everyday life and I’m excited to see how work and study are affected by getting into a routine of using mindful meditation.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now