❤️ 🧶 🧵Knot Another Knitting Tutorial -Part 6 - Casting Off and My First Knitting Project Is Finished!❤️ 🧶 🧵

The day has finally come! I had to look for a bit of help to see how to cast off, but this is officially my first completed knitting project! Normally I give up half way through and hide the knitting in the garage or any other storage area, so well - I might add - that I can never find it again.

Some photos of my last stitches last night:

So needless to say I'm pretty proud.

How to BIND OFF Knitting for Total Beginners - Sheep and Stitch

Above is the link to the first of my two source videos and then a video I put together of me actually casting off, all by myself. I did not realise how much yarn you actually need for this last and very important step so I had to watch this video to show me how to do it. Apparently I'm not the 1st person this has happened to.

Yarn-less Bind Off - iknitwithcatfur

I must admit something went awry with the yarnless cast and I lost a bunch of stitches. I managed to pick them up through and this gave me was able to give me back enough yarn to finish like the 1st video, so I guess... It's one step back and two steps forward? Or something? It does mean I lost a row or two as it unraveled a bit so it's slightly skew, but at least I was able to pick up those stitches and cast them off safely so the don't come undone. At least I learned something 🤗🤗 and that no matter the mistake you make, there's always a way of fixing it without throwing away your whole project. I'll be very careful in the future to make sure I have enough wool left for casting off!

Here's my video, with (most of) the swearing cut out :p

The scarf is very wide and we finished off with a length of 160cm, and its at least 50cm wide, so its somewhere between a scarf an a shawl.

I really enjoyed this project and I can't wait for my next trip to the wool shop to start my next one! @zakludick says he wants a blue one!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center