Insert Icebreaker Here

Oh hi Steem World.
My name is Kimberley. If I were introducing myself to a new group of students, this is where I would wave frantically and try to smile welcomingly.

image
Me, smiling welcomingly in Scotland

I should probably begin by saying I’m block chain illiterate. I first heard of Bitcoin only a year ago, and even then I thought my friend was lying. To be fair, he was explaining it in the context of mining, and really—mining the internet for a currency (that’s name sounds like it is from a video game) seems pretty... mythological.
Needless to say I missed that boat. I guess I’m here on Steem because I would prefer not to miss another.
Plus, my boyfriend @somebuttstuff (let’s just ignore the handle) and his sister @caitycat and brother-in-law @mstafford spoke very highly of the platform and the community.

image
Christopher says he likes being my boyfriend despite the apparent fear in his eyes

What content can you expect from me? Well, I’m a classic Canadian in that I love to be outdoors. I’m also venturing (hesitantly) into the world of rock climbing. I have a dog named Chewie and he is a majestic specimen (though not-so-mildly overweight) and I talk about him a lot.

image
Chewie’s full name is Chewbacca Michael William

I’m a high school humanities teacher and I hope to write at least one post a week sharing some teaching tips, along with some funny stories regarding classroom antics and the art of transforming failures into successes.

I’ll admit right now I have a pretty serious social media habit on instagram. I take pictures of books and post them daily. We insiders call it “bookstagram” and it’s pretty weird, but weird is kind of my jam. Mostly I read YA. I like to pretend it’s so I can bond with my students but really I just like it. I’ll try to do a book review once a week too.

image
Example of bookstagramming

Traveling takes up a lot of my money (real talk, can I pay off my student loan by talking to you all) and I was lucky enough to go to the UK twice in 2017, along with New York and some trips closer to home. Other past adventures include Vietnam, Cambodia, Mexico and the USA.
That’s all I can think of right now, and I’m actually chaperoning a field trip as we speak so I should probably go do some work. Thanks for stopping by and saying hi!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center