Hello World

Hi! I'm Dylan. I've arrived on Hive by the most circuitous and unlikely of routes...

StowDylanAvatar.png

I'll tell the story quick:

In 2020, I got my (re)start in crypto (I was a BTC miner back in 2011... threw out the hard drive, etc, hadn't looked again for years!) at the Cent community (https://beta.cent.co/epicdylan is my site there). I was immediately hooked on Ethereum, as people were tipping me for posts - which was very unusual, coming from Facebook!

I began writing (feel free to review the posts yourself if you care to see them!) about philosophy and doing some fiction posts as well, but nothing took off quite like I had hoped until I began to write about cryptocurrency.

I explored the ecosystem, eventually landing a hit article that got me a job writing at the Voice platform for real money, which was a big improvement over Medium.com, where I could make up to $100/month or so but was far from surviving as a writer!

I tried out Splinterlands, cleaned up in fact, late in 2020, which was my first Hive experience. Around that time, I'd gotten deep into Cosmos SDK and its app-chain vision. Seeing the gas competition on Ethereum really drove home the concept of why we need to eliminate the gas bidding wars, and I was not seeing good tools for writers on Web3.

Eventually, all of the early experiments had come and gone and we were left with a company we called WIP Publishing that had a handful of self-published authors and their books, but the books weren't moving all that well and what we had couldn't possibly scale. The PageDAO was born ( https://page.app.bio/ ) at the end of July in 2021, and a few months later Dibblers.dabs and his friends found us.

Now we've partnered with Scholar & Scribe to bring long-tail monetization potential to the Hive ecosystem, starting with Scholar and Scribe! Our technology platform is nearing launch eligibility, which is very nice because it will supercharge the NFTBook minter we deployed last year on Christmas Day 2021. We also have membership NFTs that allow people to use this minter permissionlessly - have a peek at https://membership.nftbookbazaar.com/ if you'd like to pick one up before the $MATIC price increases!

Things have been... eventful, lately, but I'll stop here - at the end of the "quick" introduction :)

Feel free to follow along if you like, I'll try to make posts as often as I can but I'm not wagering I'll be as good about that as I'd prefer to be. Still, we do what we can!

Cheers everyone,

Dylan

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now