Growing potatoes in a 55 gallon plastic drum

Potatoes grown the easy way



phone Aug 2015 047.JPG

I start with a food grade 55 gallon barrel. I drill holes in the barrel to make sure it has proper drainage. I only place about a foot of soil into the barrel when i start my seed potatoes. And as the plant grows, I keep adding soil to make the roots big and strong. I make sure not to cover the very top of the plant with added soil.


At the end of the season, all you have to do is tip the barrel over to get all your potatoes. It sure beats digging them up by hand. I did not have a good crop my first time around, I did get about 6 potatoes, but I was so mad I didn't take any pictures. I think this year, I will start them sooner, and place them in an area that receives more sun light.


Thanks for looking, and check out my blog @amos811

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center