Morning Run with My Little One 🚴‍♂️🏃‍♂️

I promised my oldest (5 years old) that he could ride his bike with me this morning while I go for a run. Honestly, I didn't really want to go since I ran on the treadmill yesterday evening at 6:30 PM, and then he woke up this morning at 5:50 AM ready to ride! We didn't make it out the door until 7 AM (thank goodness for summer vacation), and off we went!

This was definitely one of my faster runs and felt like a game of tag. On the downhills, he'd speed ahead while I tried to catch up, and on the uphills, I'd catch him. I have to say, for a 5-year-old, he handled the uphills really well and seemed to have a lot of fun. We took a few breaks on the steeper inclines, but he did great and had a blast!

Canyon 2.jpgCanyon.jpg

I'm pretty happy with my pace as I was able to up it a bit each mile, but I have to make sure that I don't make a habit of running like this. I'm pretty out of shape (for me), and last time I was training like this too much, I injured my calf and could barely walk for 2 weeks, then had to take another 4 weeks to recover from my injury.

Morning Run.png

Most of my runs really should be at 8:30 - 9:00 per mile, or about 5:10 - 5:37 per KM. It's really hard for me to maintain that pace without running faster, and I really need to watch my pace. Which, honestly, is boring and a bit of a pain. But I need to do it until I can control myself and my pace without monitoring it.

afterrun.jpg
Definitely looking a little rough after this morning's run.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center